Goals for February

7 Feb

Thank you for your comments on yesterday’s post. I think the message that we should gain from it, is that all of us can do anything we put our minds to. Doesn’t it feel like it could be a very good month ;)? I think so. Okay, enough with the cheesy stuff.

I realize that most of my January posts were a little depressing. It kind of happens when you are getting over the holiday excitement, lose your grandpa, and have the winter blues. But, I promise that I’m finally getting back in the swing of things. For awhile, I was spending the majority of my weekends watching TV in bed. And until tonight, I hadn’t hung out with my friends since the beginning of December. Where has the time gone?

The thing is, in-between all of the sad stuff, a lot of good things have been going on. Jordan and I booked our honeymoon, we found a house (!), and the wedding plans are coming together. I’ll dish about the details later, but for now, it’s time to discuss my February goals:

1. Volunteer– When I was in college, I volunteered once a month with my honor society.

Packing boxes at the food bank

Volunteering at a nursing home

It was a rewarding way to hang out with people from school, and it usually turned into a fun social event. But after college, my volunteering stopped. Completely. I want that to change. This week, I’m going to take a look at some volunteer opportunities in my area. I want to be signed up by the end of the month!

2. Get Healthier– I’m an emotional eater. I have been eating way too much sugar (my weakness) lately. This month, I’m going to do my best to wean myself off of sweets little by little. I’m also going to get back into my 5-day-a-week workout routine. I crave exercise like I crave chocolate- it’s my stress reliever- but I haven’t been doing as much as I could. For my own well-being, I need to get back into my regular routine.

3. Take a Leap of Faith– About two months ago, I started a Teach for America application. Today, I received two emails reminding me that the final deadline for applications is on Friday. I’m debating whether I want to write the essay- the last part of my application- or if I want to let it go.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss working with kids. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to do something more rewarding with my life. I’d be lying if I said I’m not confused about which direction I should take. If my path in life isn’t Teach for America, it could be something else. We’ll see.

4. Make More Time for Friends As bad as it sounds, it’s easy for me to lose touch with friends. Most of my weeknights are spent at the gym, before I come home, eat dinner, watch TV and go to bed. My weekends are spent with Jordan and our families. Not to mention, I enjoy my alone time. But tonight, I made time to have dinner with two of my good friends, and it was really nice. We decided that we need to plan to have girl time more often. It’s easy for us to get wrapped up in our own routines!

Yes, my goals are one week late, but I’d say they’re still attainable. Things are looking up :).

What are your February goals?

Do you volunteer? If so, where?

12 Responses to “Goals for February”

  1. Jess@atasteofconfidence February 7, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    I applied for Teach for America last semester and decided to decline. Let me know if you want any info or have any questions!

  2. Lauren February 8, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    One of my best friends just got into New Orleans with Teach for America. She is SO excited, but she did say you pretty much have to be willing to move anywhere.

  3. Brigid @ Live, Breathe, HUZZAH February 8, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    I just wanted to say hi and welcome to the FitFluential team! I’m sure you’ll find the network very uplifting and helpful as you strive toward your goals! Sounds like you have identified some great ones for Feb!

  4. peaceloveandoats February 8, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I’m also trying to cut out white sugar as much as possible, I’m actually intolerant to it just like gluten and soy but I’ve been really bad about cutting it out… However I’ve noticed I feel so much better when I do! And maybe just finish your application and send it in, and then make the decision later on? You might regret not sending it in at all!

  5. Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    Great goals!! Honestly, my goals for February all involve our move to Atlanta, and many of those are partially out of my control. 😉 The BIGGEST is to get our house sold! And I guess just try to keep being loving and patient to those around me, even in times of stress!! 🙂

  6. Laura February 8, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    I hear you on the sugar, it’s tough! And best wishes as you figure out the next step, that’s an exciting yet stressful time of life. 🙂 Welcome to FitFluential, I look forward to getting to know you better!

  7. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 9, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    I volunteered at a nursing home too and I loved it! It was seriously so much fun! 🙂 The sugar issue is certainly the hardest goal for me as well. AHH.

Leave a Reply

