A Very Family Valentine’s Day

12 Feb

With Jordan out of town, my Valentine’s Day plans (at least any romantic ones) are non-existent. I’m okay with that- we’ve been dating for a long time, and we don’t need a Hallmark holiday to celebrate our relationship. That doesn’t mean that I don’t enjoy red and pink hearts and a night out on the town, though! So this weekend, I made it a point to celebrate Valentine’s Day (weekend) with my family- I kind of love them too ;).

On Friday night, my sister and I had a dinner date at our favorite sushi restaurant. It was nice to hang out and catch up with her. With our busy schedules, we barely have time to talk to each other during the week!

Since we were starving by the time we got to the restaurant, we each started with a ginger salad.

The ginger dressing makes the salad…I could literally drink a cup of it by itself…that wouldn’t be gross or anything.

After our salads, we split an order of edamame and veggie fried rice.

And for the main course, avocado and cucumber rolls.

You think we’d be full after that Japanese feast for two, but we were both craving something sweet. Since the only frozen yogurt place in town just happens to be located right next door to the sushi restaurant, we decided to walk next door and enjoy some! I ate mine before taking a picture, but you can take my word for it- it was good :).

My sister date continued on Saturday, with a trip to the movies to see “The Vow.” It was a good movie, but I was little disappointed in the lack of details and abrupt ending. It’s still worth seeing in the theaters, but the romance is lacking a little- definitely not as good as “The Notebook.”

When my sister and I returned home, my parents had a Valentine’s themed dinner planned for the family.

Heart-shaped pizza! That, of course, is when it was almost gone, but it began in the shape of a heart :).

And for a special Valentine’s dessert… ice cream cake from Dairy Queen.

How cute is that? We only get DQ cake once or twice a year, but when we do, it is so good.

I think I’m all Valentined out…for now, at least. My Valentine’s Day treat ideas are piling up on Pinterest, so I might bake something today. And I still haven’t talked to Jordan since he left, so today, all I really want is to hear from him!

Enjoy your Sunday!

How are you celebrating Valentine’s Day?

 

 

 

8 Responses to “A Very Family Valentine’s Day”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign February 12, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Ah, I have not had DQ cake in so, so long but it is one of my favorites!

    I just did my poofy hair tutorial today and it will be going up on my blog later this week!

  2. Caroline February 12, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    I’m actually really excited for Valentine’s day! I’m working, then going for a run, then going to get frozen yogurt and watch Biggest Loser with a group of friends. I’m long distance too, but the day can still be fun:) Glad you were able to celebrate with your sister!

  3. Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 12, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Looks like fun! Brandon won’t be in town for Valentine’s Day, so we went out to dinner and the movies last weekend. Then this weekend, I made him a red velvet cake in the shape of a heart haha. It’s pretty tasty! 🙂

  4. thehealthyapron February 12, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    We’re not much for celebrating v-day this year either. My hubby is an acocountant and has a lot of work this time of year. Sat. night we just made a low key meal and watched a movie together though!

    I really want to see The Vow! I’ve heard great things! I love a good chick flick!

  5. Mallory @ Have Your Cake February 12, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    looks like a great weekend, Emily! i think it’s great you celebrated v-day with your fam! i’m sure you and jordan will make up for it many more vdays to come! 🙂

  6. Emily February 13, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

    Aw, how fun! It looks like you had such a fun weekend, despite being away from your man.
    A few years ago I surprised my boyfriend (at the time) with a heart shaped pizza, salad, and dessert at my house. He showed up to pick me up for dinner and was completely shocked. Needless to say, he appreciated not having to spend a fortune on dinner! Plus, it was delicious. (:

Leave a Reply

