Valentine’s Day Chocolate Bark

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope that all of you are spending it with the ones you love. On Sunday afternoon, Jordan and I were finally able to talk for a few minutes. He surprised me when he told me that he’s coming home tonight, not tomorrow! I know he’s going to be exhausted, but I’m hoping that he can stop by for a little bit- if for nothing else then to pick up this special treat that I made him:

Valentine’s Day Bark

6 squares Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate

6 squares Baker’s white chocolate

Pink food coloring (I used the gel kind, found at Kroger)

Valentine’s M&Ms

Valentine’s sprinkles

1. Melt the semi-sweet chocolate in the microwave for 2 minutes, stopping every so often to stir. Spread it (thinly) onto a lined (I used waxed paper with non-stick spray) baking sheet, and let set in the fridge.

2. Melt the white chocolate in the microwave for 2 minutes, stirring every so often. Once melted, put in as much food coloring as desired, and stir.

3. Spread the white chocolate mixture on top of the hardened semi-sweet chocolate, then top with M&Ms and sprinkles, pressing the toppings into the chocolate so they stick.

4. Put the baking sheet back in the fridge, and let set.

5. Once the chocolate is set, break into pieces, and store in a container (I put mine in the fridge).

I know that the day is coming to an end, but if you’re still looking for a quick Valentine’s gift, I highly recommend this. Since it’s cold here, I put my baking sheet outside for the chocolate to set, which saved a lot of time. It tastes good too (of course I had to try some :)).

Okay, well I’m off to eat dinner and finish my laundry (so romantic, I know) before Jordan gets home. Enjoy your evening!

 

3 Responses to “Valentine’s Day Chocolate Bark”

  1. Maureen February 14, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

    What a great Valentine’s surprise!! 🙂

  2. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 14, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    That does look good. My housemate is obsessed with peppermint bark so we might just make these for funzies.

  3. Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 15, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Yum, that bark looks incredible!!! I love that you added the food coloring … makes it much more festive!

Leave a Reply

