Wedding Planning: What I’ve Learned So Far

20 Feb

1. I don’t care  know nothing about men’s fashion.  On Saturday afternoon, Jordan, my sisters, my mom and I had two wedding-related things to take care of- the bridesmaids dresses, and the tuxes. I picked out my bridesmaids dresses online before I was even engaged I picked out my wedding dress, so that was an easy stop. The girls were measured and the dresses were ordered within a matter of minutes. The tuxes, on the other hand, were a little stressful. We had to look at tie patterns, vest patterns, fabrics, and colors. We had to decide if the guys will wear a pocket square (they’re not). We had to decide whether the pants should be pleated (most are, Jordan’s aren’t), whether the shirts should be microfiber (they are), and more details that you couldn’t even imagine. An hour or so later, we had picked out three different tux styles…one for Jordan, one for the groomsmen, and one for both of our dads. Needless to say, I am happy that we can check that not-so-small task off the to-do list :).

2. Unless it’s the very last minute, I am not a detail-oriented person. I guess I should’ve known this about myself. In college, some of my best papers were written within an hour of the deadline- I work better under pressure. Since the wedding is still five months away, the pressure hasn’t kicked in yet. My mom is asking me about church decorations and table numbers and cupcake decorations- and I’m just not quite ready to think about it yet. We have all of the big things done, and that puts my mind at ease. I just have so many little things to think about still.

I’ve got my eye on these…

3. Family is a huge help. Thankfully, when I don’t feel like thinking about the little details, my mom and sisters do. My mom has been a huge help in getting wedding-related things done while I’m at work during the day. I really don’t think we’d have the wedding planned without her (seriously). She’s been able to negotiate prices, order sample cupcakes, book a block of rooms for guests, schedule a food tasting, etc. etc. etc. I don’t have much of an interest in event planning (my biggest concerns were my dress and the photographer), so it’s nice to have other people help me stay on task!

4. Pinterest is my best version of a wedding binder. When I got engaged, a lot of people told me that I would need to start a wedding binder- a place to keep all of the wedding plans organized, something to keep myself sane. But you know what? I’ve never been a binder person. So far, I have a small collection of contracts and information in a notebook, along with some ideas I jotted down. Everything else is on Pinterest. It’s such a convenient place to keep my thoughts and dreams (yes, dreams). If I find something I really like (like those cupcakes), all I have to do is print it out…instead of printing every single thing out and keeping it in a big binder. You could say I’m helping the environment too :).

I sent this photo from Pinterest to the florist…potential bridesmaid bouquet!

Wedding planning has had its ups and downs, but I think everything is coming along nicely. Ask me how I’m doing in a couple of more months…I may give you a different response ;).

 

9 Responses to “Wedding Planning: What I’ve Learned So Far”

  1. Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 20, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    It’s the little details that can drive you crazy. Do yourself a favor … cross some of those details off your list. You won’t even miss them! And let your family and friends help take care of some of the other details. 🙂

  2. Caroline February 20, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Pinterest really is an amazing place to keep things organized. What did people do before all these social media outlets?! It sounds like you’re taking care of a lot of the main things for the wedding already:)

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 21, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    That is so cool about pinterest. I think I would be the same way in regards to details. I’m def not the most detailed person until the big day. I would probably be worried just about the big stuff right now too 🙂

  4. Megan February 21, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    My wedding is in just over 3 months! I have to say I’m totally like you. I’m not a big planner and I’m not one of those brides who loves every little detail of planning a wedding. I think I had my freak out moment at about 5 months away. I just had this light bulb go off like “ummm you should actually get a move on” haha. But in the end I know everything will turn out great no matter how much time I spend obsessing over small details. Good luck with the planning!

  5. Jessica February 21, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    I just got married and I couldn’t agree with this post more. It’s pretty much exactly how I felt planning my wedding.

  6. Danica February 21, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I can relate to this SO much….
    2: I’m exactly the same way! I’m the opposite of detail-oriented. If I see two pictures and have to choose which one I like best I have no problem doing that, but when people are asking me what I “picture” for the church decor, reception decorations, center pieces, etc. I just have no idea! (and for the most part doing care either : )
    4: I bought a wedding binder, and I never use it haha Pinterest and a folder on my computer are so much better.

  7. aarmstrshley February 21, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Thank god for Pinterest right!?

Leave a Reply

