WIAW: Fat Tuesday Edition

22 Feb

This month’s What I Ate Wednesday might be veggie-themed, but looking at yesterday’s eats will make you think otherwise. I took this year’s Fat Tuesday very very literally, but with good reason, kind of. You see, this year for Lent, I am giving up sweets. All of them. No more chocolate in my oatmeal, no more Dove chocolate after lunch, no more ice cream after dinner. I’m giving it all up. Cold turkey. The only sweet things I will allow myself are granola (which sometimes contains chocolate), and a can of pop with pizza (once a week). Everything else will be off limits.

Needless to say, I made sure to binge splurge as much as I could yesterday.

I started my day with a plate of homemade chocolate chip pancakes, with a few chopped walnuts thrown in for good measure.

Chocolate chip pancakes are often my go-to breakfast, so I’m going to have to get a little more creative over the next six weeks. I’m going to miss that kick of chocolate in the morning!

For lunch, I went to Paradise Bakery to grab something to go. I ended up with a cup of tomato basil soup, a small fruit salad, and for dessert- a coconut chocolate chip cookie. Paradise has the best cookies, and they come “free” with every meal, so it was something I wanted to treat myself to before I give it all up :).

My lunch kept me full throughout the day, so I didn’t even touch the snack that I brought for the afternoon, a mango Chobani yogurt. It’s probably a good thing too, since I had a dinner date planned with my sister after work.

We went to my favorite Mexican restaurant and started with chips, salsa and guacamole.

I probably could’ve made a meal out of that, but I also ordered two beef tacos to accompany my chips. They do not shy away from cheese!

And of course, Fat Tuesday wouldn’t be complete without ice cream. I ended the evening with a chocolate covered strawberry blizzard from Dairy Queen, and it definitely hit the spot.

Yesterday was an indulgent, sugar-filled day, but I have to admit that I’m kind of excited to cut out the sugar in my life.  If I can make it through the next 40 days, then maybe I can exend the challenge even further? We’ll see ;).

Are you giving up anything for Lent?

Did you do anything on Fat Tuesday? I think I proved that healthy living bloggers eat junk too. If you say you don’t, I don’t believe you ;).

17 Responses to “WIAW: Fat Tuesday Edition”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 22, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    Oh man-props to you! That is seriously awesome. I don’t know what I would do without my chocolate pancakes. 😉

  2. fueledbywings February 22, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    last year i gave up wings for lent but honestly i havent thought much about it..i should just give up chocolate. i have wayyy too many sweets in my life, lol!

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign February 22, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    That cookie looks so good! I’m not giving up anything for Lent–I would go crazy without my sugar!

    PS I posted my hair tutorial for you today!!

  4. Betty Seip February 22, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    Emily, as you know that in the Detroit area and with Hamtramck nearby, we have Paczki (pronounced punski) and they are sinfully delicious. I think I have heard one is around 500 calaroies. So at lunch (with your Grandma) I had one filled with custard and then I had the other one after dinner filled with apple. I know I really blew it, but, what the heck, Fat Tuesday only comes once a year.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy February 22, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      I saw one of my co-workers talking about that on Facebook. It sounds so good- and forget the calories, it was Fat Tuesday :)!

  5. Caroline February 22, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    Hi Emily! I just found your blog, love it : ) I can definitely relate to the perfectionist inside you trying to let the little things go!
    I’m giving up NY style bagels (a new-found obsession) for lent and keeping a gratitude journal for the 40 days.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy February 22, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Thank you for so much for reading! I love bagels, but I have never had a NY style one..I bet they’re good! I like your gratitude journal idea..that’s a good one!

  6. Mallory @ Have Your Cake February 22, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I don’t really give anything up for Lent. I am not religious so it’s never been something I did. I am trying to make overall positive lifestyle changes like not eating my feelings in chocolate chips on a Friday night when I’m dateless, bored, and my friends are all with their respective significant others, and so far that’s going well. Ha!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy February 24, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      Aw, that’s a good goal to have. I’ve been there too…I was always the single one in college and use to eat my way through Fri. and Sat. nights :/.

  7. squigglefloey February 23, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    Are blizzards like MFlurrys? Never had one! 😛

  8. Caitlin February 23, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    Good luck in your sugar-cutoff! I’m glad you indulged beforehand 🙂 choc chip pancakes are so good, I haven’t had any in FOREVER. I think the last time I did was at 2am at a diner in college when I was drunk – I STILL remember how good those were haha. I love Blizzards, also haven’t had one of those in forever, you are making me crave sweets! That coconut cookie looks so hearty, I did have an excellent coconut cupcake/cake combo (shared two desserts with a couple friends) on Tues night. I plan to blog it soon but it was FANTASTIC.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy February 24, 2012 at 6:53 am #

      Thank you! See? That’s why I need to cut it out…I’m even causing other people to crave sugar :)!

      • Caitlin February 24, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

        Haha so does that mean I can blame you for the ice cream sandwich I ate last night after dinner? 😛

Leave a Reply

