Listening to My Body

24 Feb

I haven’t worked out since Monday. In my college days, skipping three days between workouts would make me cringe.

I haven’t gone to the gym in three days, because I’ve been feeling a little under the weather. I can tell when I’m getting sick, and the aches and exhaustion showed up a few days ago. Thankfully, in the past year, I’ve gotten much better at listening to my body. The “old” me would’ve ignored my symptoms and continued on to Zumba class on Wednesday. The old me would’ve stayed up until 11:00 on Thursday to “get everything done” (aka blog, Pinterest, etc.), but the “new” me knows better.

I think I learned my lesson when I attempted to work out a few days after my shoulder surgery. Not my proudest moment. Since then, I’ve tried my best to notice when my body’s telling me that I need to rest. Work’s been beyond crazy the past couple of weeks, so it’s no wonder that my body wants me to slow down.

The past two nights, I’ve been in bed by nine, asleep by 9:15. I think I need to incorporate this new bedtime into my life all of the time, because today, I feel sooo much better! I’ve also been taking multiple doses of Airborne a day. If you’ve never tried it, I highly recommend it. I’ve taken 4 or 5 doses since Wednesday, and I feel much more like myself today.

Finally, as I mentioned above, I’ve been saying “no” to the gym. It’ll be there when I feel better, and taking a few days off isn’t going to hurt me. I think I even feel well enough to do some light cardio tonight! If I had worked out when I felt rundown and achy, I’d probably be sick today.

Listening to my body has paid off. Now I just need to get through this day so I can get to the fun stuff I have planned this weekend (read: food tasting for the Wedding!). TGIF!

Do you listen to your body?

What do you have planned this weekend?

 

6 Responses to “Listening to My Body”

  1. Heidi @BananaBuzzbomb February 24, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Oh, I often find it so hard to listen to my body. But as time goes on and I get older and wiser I’m getting better at it. But it’s definitely something I have to work at.

    My plans for this weekend include a 7 mile run Saturday for my half marathon training.

    Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign February 24, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I agree! Taking time off is really helpful and beneficial. I feel like I can go longer and lift heavier weights when I don’t go every day since I’m not heading to the gym with sore muscles.

    I used to be a 6 days a week workout queen–5am everyday and sometimes twice a day if there was a class I wanted to take at night. I didn’t do anything with my friends, I was too skinny, and unhappy. When I made the change to make fitness a part of my life instead of my whole life, I was much happier.

    Have a great weekend, friend!

  3. Caroline February 24, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    I just developed shin splints for training for the Indy half, so I’m taking a few weeks off to rest. I’m biking or going on the elliptical, but even that is fewer days a week then my original training plan called for. Good for you for saying “no” and allowing yourself to rest. It’s hard but it’s good!

  4. Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 27, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Hope you’re feeling better, and that you got to enjoy the food tasting!! That’s the best part of wedding planning! 😉

Leave a Reply

