WIAW: Week 1 Lent Recap

29 Feb

I can’t believe that one week has passed since last week’s WIAW post! Time is flying. This means…I have made it one week without eating desserts! I’ve had my moments, but I’m pretty proud of myself. You saw a lot of junk food in last week’s post, but you won’t see it again this week. Along with giving up desserts, I’m trying to incorporate more fruit and veggies into my diet, as well. With that being said, here’s what my eats looked like yesterday.

 

Breakfast

I began my morning with 1 cup of Quaker Oatmeal Squares topped with a few sliced strawberries and a handful of chopped walnuts, all swimming in a pool of coconut milk. On the side, I had a cup of coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon. I love the taste of coffee, but not what it does to my body. I was shaking all day long! I think I’ll stick to green tea for the rest of the week. 

Lunch

For lunch, I packed a salad with spinach and sweet butter lettuce, carrots, broccoli, sunflower seeds and raisins, all topped with an oil and vinegar dressing. On the side, I had some baby Goldfish crackers and a mandarin orange. The second orange never got eaten, but it’ll be waiting for me today!

Snack

Lunch did not keep me full for very long (the protein was definitely lacking), so I was hungry again a couple of hours later. Not like this is unusual, I always have to have an afternoon snack to get me through the day! Today’s snack was a Pretzel Honey LUNA Bar, which just happens to be my new favorite “treat.” It practically tastes like a candy bar, but has 9 grams of protein, 3 grams of fiber, and 11 grams of sugar (less than my beloved Chobani). If you’re cutting back on sweets (or even if you’re not),  I highly recommend you try it (and no one paid me to say that).

Dinner

For dinner, I went out with co-workers. We went to a new-to-me bar & grill, Fox and Hound.  I’m a bit of a homebody during the work week, as it is, but the smoky atmosphere and greasy bar food just didn’t thrill me. I ate half of a grilled chicken sandwich and fries, and part of a soft pretzel appetizer. The food was okay (not picture-worthy), but I don’t think I’d go there again. Work did take care of the bill, so I am grateful for that! And you know how I said you wouldn’t see junk food in today’s post? Well, I didn’t completely lie, since I have no evidence, other than my words ;).

As you can see, I am making progress, people! There is no chocolate in this post, and I am very proud of that!

What did you eat yesterday?

Do you participate in WIAW?

8 Responses to “WIAW: Week 1 Lent Recap”

  1. Kristen @ notsodomesticated February 29, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    That Luna bar sounds really tasty … I love the sweet/salty combination! 🙂

    I haven’t been eating as well as I typically do because we just moved and we’re living in a hotel. But I’m trying to find some balance right now!

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign February 29, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    I keep forgetting to buy that oatmeal squares cereal…it is so good straight from the box! I love the hearty texture, too!

  3. Bakeaholic February 29, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    So funny you would post this! Just this morning I was contemplating beginning to blog about WIAW! I have obviously seen it everywhere and was thinking of incorporating it into my weekly blog schedule after reading some today (not that I really have a schedule) but it was such a coincidence you would blog about it and ‘ask a question’ regarding WIAW. Hopefully I will start next week! Yesterday was a random eating day, I had an appointment first thing in the morning at 7:30 am to have an ultrasound on my kidneys (i had a stone a while ago and have continued pain), which I wasn’t allowed to eat anything prior to! So I was starving, and also decided I had better get my blood work done at the same time for the celiac test (trying to figure out food allergies as of late) since you also have to fast for that as well, and had also been up since 6 am. I didn’t get to eat breakfast until 9 am! I had rice cereal and a peach cup, and turkey lunchmeat for lunch haha. not so exciting! hopefully next weeks WIAW will have some real food in it lol.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 1, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      Oh no, well, I hope your tests come back okay, or that you find answers! I look forward to reading your WIAW post next week!

  4. HollieisFueledByLOLZ February 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    That all looks good and I’m glad it is going pretty well. My eats have been pretty boring lately-nothing too adventurous to bring to the table. 😦

  5. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries February 29, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I did WIAW this week! I haven’t done it in forever but I loved taking advantage of the veggie edition 🙂

  6. myhealthyaddictions March 2, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Im trying to decide if I want to do WIAW- I do enjoy the posts on Wednesdays that aren’t WIAW so I might not do it for awhile to give readers some variety!

Leave a Reply

