A Little Life Update

3 Mar

March 3rd, already? I’m pretty sure winter just passed us by. I wouldn’t complain, except for the devastating tornadoes that are now hitting the country. It’s sad and scary, and completely out of our control. I’m hoping that the weather makes up its mind soon so the tornadoes go away!

On a different note, now that March is here, it’s time to take a look at how I did with my February goals:

Volunteer– I did not start volunteering in February. It was on the back of my mind, but every weekend was jammed packed. I think it might be better for me to start volunteering after the wedding, when I know I’ll be able to commit.

Get Healthier– I think I accomplished this, somewhat, at least! Giving up sweets for Lent is huge for me, and I’ve been adding more fruits and veggies to my diet. Not to mention, I’ve been strength training twice a week, which is a great addition to my normal cardio routine.

Take a Leap of Faith– I didn’t end up applying to Teach for America. I can’t move across the country and leave my life in Indiana behind, so it just didn’t make sense for me. However, I might be taking plan to take a different leap of faith, eventually. I just can’t explain right now :).

Source

Make More Time for Friends– I met my friends for dinner one time in February. This might not seem like much, but with our busy schedules, it’s really hard to get together! Next week, I’m meeting a friend for a walk after work — I’m making progress!

You’re probably expecting me to list my March goals next, but I’m not going to. I’m already doing my best to stay on track with my healthy eating habits and no desserts rule for Lent, and that’s plenty for me to strive for until April gets here. I also need to clean…but that’s another story :).

On that note, I do hope to spend more time in the blog world in March. Between my computer breaking (still don’t have a new one, but my files have been recovered!) and my busy schedule, it’s been hard for me to blog…I miss you guys!

Okay, it’s 5pm and I still haven’t taken a shower (yay for lazy Saturdays). Jordan and I have a night of pizza and bowling planned, so I better get going! Enjoy your weekend!

7 Responses to “A Little Life Update”

  1. Julia March 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    It’s 4:20 here and I am still in my pajamas! Has it been difficult giving up the sweets for lent? I gave up chocolate….it was hard at first–and I may have even cheated the first day–but it’s getting easier.

  2. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries March 3, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    I was going to apply for Teach For America before I got my current job. It seems like such a fun and great opportunity to expand your horizons! But I think it’s important to be mobile in order to apply for Teach For America as well. I can’t wait to read about this new leap of faith hopefully in the future!!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 4, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      I know, I think it would’ve been a great opportunity, but unfortunately, I wouldn’t have been guaranteed a spot in my current city. Oh well, everything happens for a reason :)!

  3. foodfortheheart March 4, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!! 🙂

  4. Kristen @ notsodomesticated March 4, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Good job with the sweets! That is definitely a challenge! 😉

Leave a Reply

