Part II: Is My Workout Making Me Sick?

17 Mar

Thank you for all of your advice on Wednesday’s post! I’m feeling much more like myself now. In the past couple of days, I have had time to consider all of the factors that may or may not be making me sick.

1. Sleep: Between Sunday’s incident and this unseasonably warm weather that we’ve been having, I’ve been sleeping terribly at night. I didn’t think I’d have to sleep with my windows open and nothing but a t-shirt on (to keep myself from waking up in a pool of sweat) in the middle of March. I love this weather, but it’s really strange. Lack of sleep is beginning to catch up with me.

2. Allergies: Normally, I get allergy shots every four weeks, but I’ve been way behind lately. When I’m not consistent with my shots, my allergies are worse than normal, and I feel drained. Sometimes, this makes me sick. Between this and the strange weather, it doesn’t surprise me that I felt kind of blah this week.

3. Exercise: Many of you asked how hard I’ve been working out, and suggested that I should back off a little. The truth is, I’ve been much more lenient with my workouts since I began working full-time. I’m lucky if I make it to the gym four times a week. With that being said, I workout after work, before I eat dinner, and then I don’t eat dinner as soon as I get home. Plus, I have been taking (pretty difficult) strength training classes twice a week, and my muscles are much more fatigued because of it.

4. Stress: I’ve had a lot on my mind. I know that this can also put stress on my body.

After considering all of the factors, I’ve realized that I’m the one who’s making myself sick. I’m not getting enough rest, I have a lot on my mind, and I’m not fueling properly before and after my workouts. At this time, I’m going to hold off on supplementation and see how I do this week with more sleep and healthy snacks before and after my workouts. Hopefully, I’ll feel a lot better!

Thank you for all of your help :).

4 Responses to “Part II: Is My Workout Making Me Sick?”

  1. notsodomesticated March 17, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Hope you feel better soon. I know allergies are hitting a lot of people right now. :/

  2. peaceloveandoats March 17, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Stress and lack of sleep can really wear you down! My sister-in-law worked a job for over a year that was horribly stressful, she worked weekends, and she got home after 10 most nights. She was so ill by the end of that job and luckily found a new one that is WAY better and her health has improved tremendously!

  3. Ashley (@MyFNFDiaries) March 17, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    i know sleep is one of the main things that affect me being sick. if there’s several days in a row that i don’t sleep well, i’m almost always bound to get sick. listen to your body and rest up! 🙂

  4. Mattie (@comfyconfident) March 19, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    I hope you feel better soon. I think that sleep and a good diet will do wonders. You can do it! Make a conscious effort to get to bed earlier and sleep in if you don’t want to get out of bed. You deserve to feel better.

Leave a Reply

