I Cheated

19 Mar

I’m confused. Is it really March? Because it feels a lot like July. If you’re from the Midwest and having unseasonably warm hot temperatures, you know what I’m talking about. I don’t mind the warm weather, it just makes me a little nervous for what’s to come this summer (considering it’s actually still winter).

The good thing about 80 degree temps is…well, there are a lot of good things. For one, I have been sporting summer clothes for the past week and a half. This means less layers and less laundry for me. Another good thing is being able to go for a walk, or just sit, in the sun. I suffer from SAD in the winter and feel a million times better when I get some sunlight in the spring. Another good thing? Being able to enjoy time with friends and family outside — and that’s exactly what I did over the weekend.

On Saturday, Jordan and I went to his house for an early Easter celebration. Because of conflicts, all of his family won’t be able to get together on the actual holiday, so we had to improvise and celebrate on St.Patrick’s Day. Since it was so nice outside, the kids were able to have an outdoor Easter egg hunt (in shorts and t-shirts, I might add), while the “grown-ups” watched and talked around a bonfire. Jordan and I are now confused as to whether we fit in with the kids or the adults, so he still participated in the egg hunt while I took pictures from the sidelines. Next year, I’m pretty sure he’ll have to stay out of it :).

After the Easter egg hunt, Jordan and I went inside for some dessert. Yes, you heard that right.

I cheated. Jordan and I talked about it, and since that was the only Easter he was going to get with his family this year, we felt that it was okay that we both cheat on our Lenten resolutions. He gave up pop, I gave up desserts, and we both caved. But just for the evening. I’m not going to eat it again until I celebrate Easter with my family, on Easter Sunday! The good news is, after I ate that plateful of desserts (plus a small piece of cake – a couple of birthdays were also celebrated that night – yes, I was a pig), I didn’t want anymore. I think I have finally broken my sugar addiction, and even when I can eat desserts again, I’m going to try my best not to eat it every night!

After celebrating with Jordan’s family, we went over to our friends’ new house to catch up over a bonfire and s’mores (but I did not partake in those). Our time was cut a little short when it started to thunderstorm, but by that time, I was exhausted and more than ready to call it a night.

I don’t like when good weekends have to end, but I suppose they all do at some point. Now that ‘The Bachelor’ is over, I have nothing something else to look forward to on Monday nights- ‘Bethenny Ever After.’ In fact, I think she’s calling my name right now :).

How’d you spend your weekend?

Have you ever cheated on anything?

 

7 Responses to “I Cheated”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ March 20, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    I love how honest you were. I also love that you think you have given up your sugar addiction. That happened to me as well! When I first started limiting my sugar for medical problems, I missed it…but now? Not so much.

  2. notsodomesticated March 20, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    Sounds like you had a fun Easter celebration! 🙂 You saw what we did already … wine tasting and Mellow Mushroom pizza! We also went to church on Sunday, and didn’t do much else on Sunday afternoon.

    Hope you have a great day!!

  3. Josie March 20, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Looks like a fun easter celebration. Yum. I have cheated many a time- I don’t make crazy promises anymore “No more chocolate” because I know I’ll just cave. I try to limit it instead (mixed results) 🙂

  4. fitandfuninthird March 21, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    What a fun Easter celebration! I think if you’re gonna “cheat” you did it right! 😉 Although I don’t know if I could have stopped myself being infront of s’mores. YUM!

  5. Erika March 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Sounds like a nice weekend. I relaxed, as much as possible, on the couch. Happy Easter!

  6. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions March 26, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Late comment, but I cheated on my Lenten resolution too, if it makes you feel any better. The Wednesday after Ash Wednesday I had dinner with the president of my college and his wife at their house (along with about 30 other people in a group I’m in at school) and the dessert just looked too good to pass up…so I ate it. I figured it was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, so it was okay. I did not, however, cheat once when I was in Mexico last week. Not when we went to the bulk candy store. Not when we went to the plaza in the city and everyone else got churros. Not when we celebrated three birthdays in one day with three different cakes. Not when we stopped at a gas station in the desert on the way out to stargaze and everyone else got candy. Not when the whole group stopped for ice cream (though I was also getting over the stomach flu at that time, so I wasn’t too tempted haha). Man, let me tell you, Easter Sunday is going to be the best day of my freaking life. Haha.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 27, 2012 at 10:36 am #

      That’s great that you didn’t cheat any other times! And I don’t blame you for cheating that night. Only 12 more days!

Leave a Reply

