I Want This Time to Last

26 Mar

Over the weekend, Jordan and I bought our very first home-related purchase together.

A Rachael Ray 10-piece Gradient Bubble and Brown Set, in yellow.

For those of you who already have your own homes, this might not seem like a big deal, but for us, it is. We both live at home with our parents. If we don’t count college, neither of us have ever lived on our own, and we’ve never lived together. We are (completely) starting from scratch- in 3 months, 2 weeks and 4 days. And this Bubble & Brown Set is the first addition to our new life together. Reality is sinking in.

This 8-month period of engagement is a once in a lifetime opportunity. We’re not quite single, but not quite married either. Our friends and family have been extremely generous and helpful during the wedding planning process. People at church ask about our wedding plans every Sunday- it’s nice. We don’t have any major responsibilities yet- no mortgage, no car payments, no grocery bills. We’re in a state of engaged bliss, and before we know, it’ll be over.

Not that it’s a bad thing (I’m very excited to get married!), but I just don’t want this time to go by too fast. For most of my life, I’ve been rushing my life away. When I was 14, I wanted to date and drive. When I was 16, I wanted to go to college. When I was 18, I wanted to be done with college. Now that I’m 23, I’m living my life from weekend to weekend. I’m rushing, rushing, rushing, and not really enjoying.

Then tonight, my mom said something that changed my perspective in an instant. She told me that my grandma wants to help plan my shower, that she called her today to tell her how excited she is. That she’s really looking forward to that special day in May. That she’s been through a lot this year, and this will be a bright spot in a year of sorrow (okay, I said that).

You see, in the past year, both of my grandmas lost their husbands. Of course, I always thought of them as my grandpas, but many many years ago (58, to be exact), they were in this exact same place. They were getting ready to marry to the loves of their lives. Then, nearly 30 years after that, they helped their kids plan their weddings. Now, almost 26 years later, my grandmas are helping to plan part of mine. But if you ask them where the time went, they’ll tell you they have no idea. I know this, because my grandpa told me so before he passed away. He told Jordan and I to hang onto every moment, because before we know it, that moment will be gone and only memories will remain.

I’m going to hang onto these moments – when I’m sleeping in my twin bed in my childhood room; when we go out to dinner without worrying about bills or kids or bedtimes; when we can just be 20-somethings, in this awkward in-between stage that is currently our life.

Though sometimes awkward and complicated and scary, I am loving this in-between stage. And I’m going to continue to love it for the next 3 months, 2 weeks and 4 days (but who’s counting).

After all, my grandpa told me to :).

Have you had in-between stages in your life?

How did you feel when you moved out of your parents’ house for the very last time?

23 Responses to “I Want This Time to Last”

  1. Mallory @ Have Your Cake March 26, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    wow, I can’t imagine going from living with my parents to being married. i guess i’ve always needed a bit more transition – i can’t even imagine being engaged right now! mainly cause i have so much to figure out first. oh and a man i’m madly in love with would help too πŸ˜‰

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 27, 2012 at 10:38 am #

      Haha, it is a big transition, and it kind of scares me sometimes. You will find that man someday when you’re ready :).

  2. notsodomesticated March 27, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Aww I love this post. I definitely agree … enjoy this time. It’s very special, and it’s once in a lifetime. Too quickly do you end up worrying about those things like mortgages and combined student loan debt (believe me … I’m speaking from experience). Each chapter is special. That engaged time is so special, and then your first year of marriage will be so special. Right now, Brandon and I are in the “we’re living in a new city and don’t know anyone and our entire lives are stuffed in a hotel room” stage. It’s crazy, but we know we’ll look back and laugh at this time. And we’re enjoying this time before babies come into the picture, and completely change things!! πŸ˜‰

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 27, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      Oh yes, right now our loans seem manageable, but it’s going to seem like a lot when we combine them! Enjoy your time in a new city, I’m sure it will make a good story one day :)!

  3. Sarah March 27, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    aww how exciting! Congrats on your first purchase together! I feel like I am totally in an in between stage. I have 1 more year of college and then I’m off on my own. Yikes! Transitioning for me from high school to college was for sure rough but I feel like my next transition will go a bit smoother. Fingers crossed!

  4. gkennington March 27, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I love this post! I’m actually in tears right now because I was in your exact situation one year ago. I was engaged and living with my parents. Our wedding was in May, right after my last semester of college. I can remember being awake very early on the day of our rehearsal because I was so anxious. I was watching tv and the final episode of Boy Meets World was on, the one where Cory, Topanga, and their son leave for good. I sat and bawled my eyes out because I knew that I was about to leave my home forever. I agree 100% with you about enjoying every moment and not wishing life away. My wedding day went by SO fast! Take everything in on that day and just enjoy every moment because you can’t get it back! Thank you for such a great post! πŸ™‚

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 27, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Aw, I’m glad that you can relate! Were you homesick after the wedding? That is one of my biggest fears!

      • gkennington March 27, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

        I never got terribly homesick because we lived in the same town as my parents, and I made sure to go visit them a lot!

  5. HollieisFueledByLOLZ March 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

    Awe girl-I can only imagine what you are going through. Wow. I don’t even know what I’ll do transitioning into the real world-ya know? Great post and YAY for the first purchase!

  6. fitandfuninthird March 27, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Such a sweet post! I got goosebumps! You have the best mindset about the situation…. it really does go by so fast, and it’s so important to cherish every second of this time. Before you know it, you’ll be walking down the aisle on the way to your future! πŸ™‚

  7. Caitlin March 28, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    What an amazing photo!!!
    I actually haven’t even moved out yet! I lived in a dorm in college but after graduation, I went right back to my parents’ place and still live there to save up money, since my workplace is 40 min from home.
    It’s definitely going to be a completely new experience for you two since you haven’t lived together before. But since you’re both in the same boat, you can work thru it together!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy March 28, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      Yep, I’m in the same boat as you…living at home to save money! My commute is 45 min. each way :(.

      Thanks! I think Jordan and I will be okay since it’s a new experience for both of us.

  8. ko0ty March 28, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Congrats on the big transition! It’s such a fun but busy time. I’m currently in the middle of a move right now too.. from my parents house to living on my own the first time. I love it but it’s so different!

  9. di @ life of di. March 29, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    Hi Emily, I just stumbled upon your blog through Newly Wife, Healthy Life and Itty Bits of Balance. Anyways, I immediately thought you looked super familiar and I realized that you may, in fact, be the Emily that used to live down the street from me in Hilliard! If so, small world and it’s too funny that I ran across your blog! If not, then you look just like the Emily I went to elementary school with :o)

  10. ittybitsofbalance March 31, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    Great post, Emily. It’s so true– it’s in our human nature to rushrushrush through life, bouncing from task to task, trying to get everything done as quick as possible. When in reality, it’s those moments that we are rushing through that truly matter! And what a great way to look at it by comparing your grandmother’s past to your present.

    By the way, that picture– I LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

