April Goals: Wedding Edition

2 Apr

I could start this post off by saying that I can’t believe that it’s already April — Where did March go? — but I feel like I say that at the start of every month. Instead, I’ll start off by saying, I can’t believe that my wedding is only three months (and 2 weeks) away! In the past five months of wedding planning, a lot has happened. The flowers are picked out, the tuxes are ordered, and the wedding music is chosen and just waiting to be played. Thanks to the help of my sister, the wedding party gifts are almost finished, and to the help of my parents, a sweet (literally) surprise has been booked for the reception. To put it simply, we’ve gotten a lot done. And yet, there’s still so much more to do. Yesterday, Jordan and I checked one more to-do off of my our list when we purchased his wedding band. The saleswoman seemed surprised that we were picking it out so close to the wedding (apparently?), and seeing the ring on his finger made us realize that the big day will be here before we know it.

So, without further rambling ado, here are my wedding goals for April:

1. Order the cupcakes and cake– Since Lent will be over in less than a week, we can finally sample and order the desserts for the wedding. Our guests will enjoy cupcakes, and Jordan and I will cut into a cheesecake. We will be more than happy to participate in this to-do together!

2. Make the church decorations- This is something that I could put off until the last minute if I wanted to, but if I do that, I’ll never get them done. I have a few ideas pinned on Pinterest already, so I just need to get motivated to print off the directions and start crafting :).

3. Address the invites- Our invitations arrived in the mail a few weeks ago, from MagnetStreet.com (highly recommend them!), but we have yet to address a single envelope. We plan to send them out eight weeks before the wedding, so we still have some time, but if we’re my sister’s going to address all of them by hand, I need to give her the guest list so she can get going. My sister is very artistic (and a huge help!).

4. Go dress shopping- Not wedding dress shopping, I already have that covered :). This is a fun, but simpler task. I need a few dresses — for my showers, my bachelorette party, and the rehearsal dinner. Something girly and summery would be great, but I’m also on a budget. If you have any suggestions, feel free to throw them my way :).

If you weren’t $100…

5. Enjoy my bridal shower- My first bridal shower is on April 28! It’s coming up so soon! Jordan’s mom is throwing me this one, and although I have no doubt that I’ll enjoy it, I know I’m going to have some anxiety about opening presents in front of everyone.  Since I know I’m not the only bride that feels like his, I’m sure I’ll be okay.

Besides the wedding-related goals, Jordan and I are also in the process of getting a mortgage and closing on our future house by the beginning of June. Lots of exciting stuff happening around here, but it’s going to take some work to get it all done! Just gotta go one day at a time. It’s only Monday, after all :).

Do you have any goals for April?

If you’re engaged/married, do/did you set wedding planning goals for yourself each month?

16 Responses to “April Goals: Wedding Edition”

  1. amy April 2, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Sounds like a busy but AWESOME month, Emily!!!
    April has always been my favorite…it feels a bit different this year because it’s my last semester of college but I’m determined to make it the best one yet!! 🙂

  2. Caroline April 2, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    I feel like i start each month with something about how I can’t believe it’s already the current month and how fast this past month went. Oy. It sounds like you have a great month ahead:)

  3. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign April 2, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    I’m so excited for you! This is such a fun time–just remember to enjoy it! I have found so many cheap dresses at Wal-Mart…seriously…12.99 for dresses and they are adorable. I buy the basic dress and then jazz it up with boots, a cardigan, and a belt.

    I had an interview at Magnet Street last wednesday…still waiting to hear back! They need a wedding invitation designer!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 2, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      Good idea! Wal-Mart does have some cute stuff!

      Wow, congrats! I LOVE how my invites turned out..they’re so fun and unique. I think you’d be great at designing them!

  4. terranleigh April 2, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

    I am getting married at the end of August and each month I do have goals for myself! This month it is to assemble the invitations and put them off in the corner so they are set to go. As with you dress shopping for the events prior to the wedding need to begin too!

  5. notsodomesticated April 2, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Yay, so much fun!! 🙂 I don’t know if I had monthly goals necessarily, but I had a big to-do list, and I tried to cross things off as quickly as possible. And I guess I had a big to-do list and then smaller to-do lists that were appropriate for that point in time, because there were SO many things I couldn’t do until it got a lot closer to the big day! 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 2, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      So true…I’d love to create the seating chart now and not have to worry about it later, but that won’t happen until a few weeks before the wedding!

  6. Danica April 2, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    Ah! My wedding is in just 2 months and I have all of these things to do AND more haha good for you for being prepared!! 🙂

  7. Healthiful Balance April 3, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    I know..where has the time gone?!?
    Yay, thats so exciting that your wedding is only three months and two weeks away!

  8. savorlifesflavors April 6, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I am currently planning my October wedding and I have a VERY loose monthly schedule. I also have things that should have been done 2 months ago that are not done, and things that don’t need to be done for months that are complete. My maid of honor is getting married a month before me (and I am her MOH) so finding time to plan all the necessary events is insane! I feel your pain!

  9. Mel (mmmstories) April 10, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    You should check out Asos.com! They offer free shipping and returns, very fashion-forward styles and although a lot of their outfits are more expensive, they have a ton of sales and dresses around $25! I’ve heard that sizes run small because they are European but my size was about the same. I am obsessed with the website.

Leave a Reply

