Bridezilla Moment #2

11 Apr

It’s been a while since I had a major Bridezilla moment. Almost five months, if we’re being exact. But last night, I broke down.

Last night was the trial run for my updo. I was a little nervous going into it, because I’m a control freak I’m not a huge fan of people doing my hair — I don’t even like getting my hair cut.

I went to my normal stylist, showed her the pictures that interested me, and she got to work.

Front

Back

The whole time she was doing my hair, my back was to the mirror, so I had no idea how it looked. When she was finished, she turned me around and asked me what I thought. It didn’t look exactly like the picture, because my hair’s not long enough, but it was close enough. I wouldn’t say that I was thrilled, but I didn’t know what else to ask for. I went home to show my family.

The first thing my mom said when I walked in the door was, “I’m not crazy about it.” My sister’s comment was basically the same. Not exactly a confidence booster. So I got mad. And sad. I’d already had a bad day at work, and this just added to my stress. I called Jordan crying, and asked him to come over to look at it. By the time he came over, I was a tear-streaked, frizzy hair mess. All because of this updo.

By the time he came over, however, I had calmed down and was able to take my emotions out of the equation. First, I decided that it wasn’t the stylist’s fault. I chose this particular hairdo, she did what was asked, and it just didn’t look good on my face shape. Then, I decided that you’d never even see my hair with this particular style, because my veil would be covering it. Why pay $80 on my wedding day for something no one will ever see?

I’m going back to my stylist in June for a trim before the wedding. And I’m going to have to tell her that I’ve completely changed my mind. For some reason, this stresses me out. I don’t want to hurt her feelings or make things difficult. At the same time, it is my wedding day…I shouldn’t feel bad! This time, I’m leaning towards something higher on my head. It’ll flatter and my face shape, and I can wear my veil underneath it. Fingers crossed that the second time’s a charm.

More like this…

For the record, I will (happily) be doing my own makeup on my wedding day :).

If you’re married, how did you do your hair for your wedding? Did you do it yourself?

Do you like getting your hair done?

24 Responses to “Bridezilla Moment #2”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ April 11, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    It happens girl. I’ve never been in that situation but I know little things can just tunnel into a huge stress booster. I like the hairstyle though-hopefully all will work out.

    I hate getting my hair done because my stylist always cuts way too much off.

  2. kitkat1126 April 11, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    I know exactly what you mean! Honestly, don’t worry about hurting your stylist’s feelings, she won’t take it personally! They really do want you to have a style you love. The hair is one easy thing you can change (as many times as you’d like!) I give you major props for doing your makeup on the day!

    ps: I tagged you in my post today, no pressure to participate.

  3. Cait @ Beyond Bananas April 11, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    That last picture is the exact one I’ve had printed and hanging on my fridge so I remember to take it with me for my trial!

  4. Lift Eat Repeat April 11, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    For my wedding I decided not to go too fancy because I wanted to look like me. I went back and forth between an up-do and wearing my hair down. Since I wear my hair down almost every day I decided to go with that. I had my hairdresser do loose wavy ringlet curls. My hair was super blonde at the time and I love it! I’m happy I choose to have my hair down! I LOVE getting my hair done- it’s the one time every 3 months or so that I get to be pampered! πŸ™‚
    I’ll email you some pics of my wedding day hair!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 11, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

      That’d be great, I’d love to see them! I want to look like myself too. I always think it looks funny when brides try something that they’d never wear in “real life.”

  5. Health Freak College Girl April 11, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    only 2 bridezilla moments? girl you are doing great! some people go absolutely insane when they get married. so you are just fine πŸ˜€

    • Betty Seip April 11, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      Hi Emily,
      I dIdn’t get to see how you looked in the hair style, but, I do like the style. When I got married teasing was the style so I did my own hair., If I looked good in long hair, I would like the style (do not know what it is called) where the hair is combed back on top and sides and pulled to the back of the head and curls are made and the rest hangs loose in the back. I love that style. I am sure you will look good no matter what you decide. Love ya, Aunt Betty

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 11, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

      Haha, very true.

  6. eatpraytri April 11, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    I absolutely had the same thing happen to me!! I hated my up-do the first time around. It just wasn’t right. Very stressful indeed, b/c you don’t feel like you can try a million different styles until you find the one that is perfect (like a dress) you only have a couple tries to get it right. BUT in the end, it will work out and it will be the best day of your life! πŸ˜‰

  7. notsodomesticated April 11, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    I changed my mind on my wedding hair SO many times. My hair is very fine but I have a lot of it, and there are a lot of up-do’s that just don’t work with my hair type. I originally wanted this side ponytail-bun thing with a flower in it, but I just didn’t like when it was my hair, my body, my face … etc. We finally settled on a half up/half down look, which I ended up loving, but it took a while to get to that point! πŸ˜‰

  8. Danica @ It's Progression April 11, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    I’m having such a hard time choosing my ‘do for my wedding…It’s actually a really tough choice! I completely understand the “breakdown”–it happens, girl! The great thing is that you did your trial run so early on that you have plenty of time to choose something that you’ll love.

  9. fitandfuninthird April 11, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    I hear ya…. I can’t believe you’ve only had 2 bridezilla moments…good for you!! πŸ™‚ Honestly, the same thing happened to me. I went for my trial and I thought it was good, but as days went on, I just wasn’t feeling it. The morning of my wedding I actually ended up asking her to do something totally different, and it turned out to be exactly what I was picturing! Just follow your gut! You’re going to look beautiful no matter what!!

  10. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign April 12, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Oh man! I would have freaked out too!

    I had my hair done that morning just because I feel like I could have easily messed it up (ran out of time, oversprayed my hair, etc.) and I’m glad I did! I was supposed to have a veil and at the last minute, ditched it because it didn’t feel like “me.”

    My sister did my makeup–I wanted the day to be the least stressful as possible and sometimes things go haywire when I do them!

    Everything will be fine for your wedding! I promise!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 12, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks! I don’t want to have to worry about anything on the day of the wedding either. Everything will work out!

  11. Caitlin April 12, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    i can’t imagine paying someone else to do my makeup on my wedding day, like you. i’m not even a big makeup person so i don’t want to get all professionally made up on my wedding day and spend that money just to end up not looking like ME!

    i’d be worried about hurting her feelings too. we are the same way! people pleasers through and through. but it’s YOUR big day so try not to let it stress you too much πŸ™‚ every bride will have her -zilla moments πŸ˜‰

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 13, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      Yeah, I’m the same way. I don’t wear a lot of makeup so I don’t want to end up looking like a clown! I’ll try not to let it bother me. Thanks πŸ™‚

  12. savorlifesflavors April 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    I have yet to make an appointment, but I have no idea what to do with my hair for my wedding! I want it down but I also hate having people do my hair. Its such a silly but stressful decision because there will be a million pictures reminding me of the choice I did or did not make. Props to you for going 5 months without a bridezilla moment!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy April 13, 2012 at 6:54 am #

      I know, that’s what I’m struggling with too. I don’t want to look back and think, “what did I do to my hair?” Thanks!

  13. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish April 13, 2012 at 1:35 am #

    Oh, gosh, I would have reacted the same way if my mom and sister had “disapproved” of the style I’d chosen! I stress over my hair *way* too easily, so I can only imagine what pressure you’re feeling for your wedding day! But you know what? Nobody is going to remember your hair…What they’re going to remember is the huge smile on your gorgeous face as you walk down that aisle! ❀

Leave a Reply

