My First Bridal Shower

27 Apr

This week has felt so surreal; I don’t even know where to start! First of all, I loved reading all of your comments on my name change post. You’ve given me so many things to think about! Then there was the moment I spent with Bethenny Frankel, err, the day I got to meet her. I have photos to show you and stories to tell you, but that post is going to have to wait until next week (I know, I know, but it’ll be worth the wait ;)).

In the meantime, I’ve got something a little more time sensitive to talk about…my first bridal shower!

Tomorrow at 11:30 a.m., I will be arriving at the first of my two bridal showers. It’s hard to believe that it’s already here — it’s hard to believe that I’m getting married in 2 1/2 months! This shower is being thrown by Jordan’s sisters (and his mom, since they’re only 14 :)), at a restaurant in Indianapolis. I would be lying if I said my nerves aren’t starting to kick in. While I love Jordan’s family and have known them for almost 3 1/2 years, there will be several people at the shower that I’ve never met before. I enjoy being the center of the attention sometimes, but when a whole event is for me, I get nervous!

The present opening part is my biggest worry. I can handle lunch and mingling, but when I have to open those presents and all eyes are on me, I’m afraid I’ll be self-conscious. I get nervous opening presents on Christmas morning with my immediate family, so how am I going to be with people I don’t know? I’m not very good at expressing myself in these situations. Even if I love something, I don’t give a super excited reaction — it’s just how I am. I’ve heard other bloggers share this worry, so I feel better knowing that I’m not alone :).

The good news is, thanks to Nordstrom Rack, I’ve found a dress to wear. I tried on 13 (yes, 13) dresses, and chose the one that flattered my figure the most (apparently elastic waistbands and flouncy tops are in this season, and they don’t flatter me at all!). What’s even better, is that I got a great discount.

I’ll post pictures after the shower, but I promise it’s not camo like it looks!

This week has been full of exciting changes, and I can’t wait to share them with you when I can. Until then, have a great Friday and enjoy your weekend!

If you’re married, did you get nervous before your bridal shower?

Have you ever been to a bridal shower? What’d you enjoy the most about it?

 

 

12 Responses to “My First Bridal Shower”

  1. notsodomesticated April 27, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    I didn’t get nervous, but I also have a fairly extroverted personality. Don’t worry too much about your reaction when opening gifts … these are YOUR friends and family … they know your day to day personality! πŸ™‚ Just say thank you after opening each gift … that should be enough to keep everyone happy! πŸ˜‰ It’s your day. Just try to enjoy!

  2. fitandfuninthird April 27, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    Girl I just got butterflies in my stomach for you!! Just remember that everyone around you is there because they truly love you and want to celebrate you!!! You’ll be fine, I promise! Have a glass of wine and relax πŸ™‚

  3. Lauren April 27, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Hello Miss Emily… You’ll do fine at your bridal shower I promise! Just soak up the fun, and you’ll be totally greatful for all of your great gifts : ) Have a blast!!

  4. Danica @ It's Progression April 27, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    Girl I am the exact same way! I really don’t like opening gifts in front of other people (always feel so uncomfortable) and hate being the center of attention, I’m much more of a behind-the-scenes person…I have my first bridal shower next Sunday the 6th and I know I’ll feel the same way you do now…Just remember that they’re all there to support you and show you that they care. It’s family, and even though you may not know some of them, you have no one to impress. You only get to do this once in a lifetime so have fun!!
    p.s. you can remind me I said all of this in a week πŸ˜‰

  5. kitkat1126 April 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I am so nervous for mine too, mostly for the opening presents part! But truthfully, I have been to 3 showers in the past few months and my favorite part has been watching the bride open gifts! As awkward as it may feel for the bride, you can’t really tell and it’s so much fun to see what she gets and from who! (Especially fun when there is unexpected gifts like lingerie!) Enjoy it!!! πŸ™‚

  6. Health Freak College Girl April 27, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

    i bet everything will be just fine πŸ™‚ i hate opening gifts in front of people too so you’re not alone!

  7. Brittany April 28, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Emily, I was the same exact way! However, everyone there is there to love and support you and your fiance. They love you and this is their way of celebrating your marriage. Take a deep breath, relax, and enjoy it! Just make sure you write thank you notes after! πŸ˜‰ Let us know how it goes… we are rooting for you girl!

  8. savorlifesflavors April 28, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    I can’t wait to hear about the shower! Mine is in a few months and I am already nervous about being the center of attention. My favorite part of the shower is just meeting everyone. Its fun when different groups of friends and family come together and talk about the bride and how excited everyone is. Also- the presents!!

  9. di @ life of di. April 28, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    I can completely realte. That was definitely the most uneasy part of the bridal shower. Fortunately everyone is talking and enjoying themselves while looking at you – so the complete 100% focus isn’t on you but the whole moment. Enjoy it! πŸ™‚ That is honestly my best advice – I wish I would’ve enjoyed my bridal shower more – instead, I was nervous and self conscious about whether everyone would mingle well. You’ll have a great time!

  10. Presley (@runpretty) April 29, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    Bridal Showers are fun! I hope you didn’t stress too much πŸ™‚

  11. Michelle April 29, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    First of all, I cannot wait to hear about meeting Bethanny!! I love her, even if I don’t know how well we’d get along in real life πŸ™‚ I think she would stress me out!
    Even though I’m not even engaged yet, I get nervous even thinking about having a bridal shower thrown for me. I’m good friends with everyone in my boyfriend’s family, but I’m not comfortable opening presents in front of everyone! As a teacher, I’m used to having all eyes on me, but I’m usually telling them to work on math problems, not opening up table settings πŸ™‚ I always just keep in mind that everyone is there to celebrate with you and will make you feel comfortable and at ease πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

