My Last Day

11 May

One year ago yesterday, I was finishing my last day at my internship. After saying goodbye at the office, I went to school to pick up my cap and gown, and then I went to a local high school to watch Jordan’s sisters compete in their last track meet of the year. It was a day that marked the end of several chapters in all of our lives. And funny enough, yesterday looked almost identical.

Yesterday was my last day of my first “real” job out of college. I went through the day as usual, getting as much work done as I possibly could. I had an exit interview with HR, and was able to tell her the positive and negative aspects of my time spent there. At lunch, I went for a walk around the office, did a little shopping (my office was located in a mall) and ate at Qdoba, one last time. And at the end of the day, I turned in my laptop and key, said a very generic “goodbye” to my team, and walked out without looking back. It was a strange feeling. After work, I drove straight to Jordan’s sisters’ last track meet of the year, the same exact one I went to last year after finishing up my college career — and it felt like everything had come full circle.

Last year at this time, I felt a little lost — confused about what direction my life was going in. I’d been interviewing, but didn’t have a job lined up yet. I was sad that I was leaving school for good, but happy that I would no longer have the stress of homework. I was in limbo. The same place that I am in now.

I’ve learned a lot about myself over the past 10 months. I’ve learned that a 9-5 ‘”stare at the computer all day long” desk job is not for me. I’ve learned that I will go crazy if I eat all of my lunches at my desk. I’ve learned that a person should never go 10 months without so much as one personal or vacation day. I’ve learned that I’m still not exactly sure what I want to do with my life (career-wise, anyway).

I quit my job because I was burnt out. Burnt out to a point where going to work in the morning felt like torture. When you work for a startup company that changes direction every three days, it’s bound to happen. The past seven months of my time there, I hadn’t even really been writing. My job title completely changed overnight, and I felt trapped in position that I hated. So, I started looking for something else.

I did a lot of soul searching, a lot of talking with Jordan to make sure he was okay with this big decision right before we buy a house and get married, and let’s be honest — a lot of crying. Change can be a scary thing. But then, I just took a leap and went for it.

From now until the beginning of June, I will be on the substitute list at a school district nearby. Some of you might remember that I spent two years of college as an Elementary Education major, before I quickly switched back to Communication as a fifth year senior, and graduated. I don’t regret that switch, because I loved my classes, but I do miss interacting with people, especially kids, on a daily basis. I’m nervous, because I haven’t been in a classroom or worked with kids in nearly two years, and I’ve never subbed before, but I’m going to give it a shot. If I like it, it might just lead me to get my teaching license — who knows.

Of course, once the school year is over, my subbing position will be over too. At that time, I will work as a camp counselor at a private school. I was a camp counselor for four summers while I was in college, and I loved it, so I’m really looking forward to this summer.

Summer Camp 2009

The best part is, they are very flexible and willing to work around the wedding and honeymoon — something I’m guessing no other job would be willing to do if I started at this time.

The only problem thing is, as of right now, when I come back from our honeymoon, I will be unemployed. I can continue to sub when the school year starts, of course, but that’s only when they need me, and I was told that I should never expect it to be a full-time job. Which means I’m right back where I was at this time last year — job searching.

But this year, I’m kind of excited. I know what my passions are — writing, fitness, nutrition, and kids — I just have to find a way to turn those passions into a career, somehow. My future is wide open. And for the first time in my life, I’m okay with that.

Now, excuse me while I go enjoy my first relaxing Friday since last summer ;).

Have you ever chosen to make a big career change?

What do you do for a living?

 

22 Responses to “My Last Day”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 11, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Our stories sound so similar…it’s so hard to go to a job you don’t enjoy or when you get switched to a position that you don’t really want. I’m so excited for this new chapter of your life!

  2. kitkat1126 May 11, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Good for you for realizing you were in a position you didn’t want to be and are now open for change. It’s scary and takes a lot of courage but I bet it pays off! I’ve had very similar feelings recently…

  3. Health Freak College Girl May 11, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    i am so excited to see what lays ahead for you! good for you for making the decision on what was right for you 🙂

  4. Lauren May 11, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    I’m so happy for you!! Hopefully everything will turn out the way you would like! See you in a week and a day : )

  5. Danica @ It's Progression May 11, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I can completely relate to this feeling of ‘being in limbo’ right now. I just graduated with a teaching degree but am still trying to pass all nine (!!!) of the tests to even apply for my teaching license, plus look for jobs, plus of course buy a house and get married in a month. Girl, I totally understand! : ) Really though, we’ll make it through and I think that all this in-between time will just lead us to where we’re meant to be! You should be proud of yourself for following your heart, no matter how cheesy that sounds : )

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 13, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Thank you :)! Those tests are killer…I took the first test to get into the School of Education (when I was in it originally), but I’ve heard that the ones you have to pass once you graduate are much more difficult! I wish you luck in your job search, I know you will find something!

  6. Val @ Tips on Healthy Living May 11, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    When one door closes, another one opens. Congrats on starting a whole new chapter and sounding so unafraid! It’s on your own terms so you are in the driver’s seat — sometimes those big career changes are made for you rather than by you so consider yourself lucky. I’m sure you have big things ahead of you!

  7. savorlifesflavors May 11, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    Congrats again on your new adventure. I was shaking my head while reading this post because I am going through something similar. I went to school for teaching and I love every minute of being in the classroom however I recently made the decision to opt out of my current position at the end of the year and I’m freaking out. I hate change, and I hate that uneasy process of getting acclimated at new job with new people and a new set of expectations. Plus like you I have a wedding coming up and desperately need a job lined up for the fall. I keep telling myself that everything will work out, but with family, friends and a fiance asking a million questions about my future plans, I can’t help but stress and stress and stress. In the end I’m excited to see how the future unfolds and you should be too!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 13, 2012 at 9:52 am #

      Thank you! I don’t like change either, so I know how you feel. I hope that things work out for the both of us — I’m sure that they will!

  8. squigglefloey May 12, 2012 at 5:06 am #

    ❤ I know you'll be fine. You already have a plan and a job lined up for awhile. Who knows what else can happen next 🙂 So excited for you!

  9. notsodomesticated May 12, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    Good luck to you, Emily! I can understand a bit about how you’re feeling. When we moved from Ohio to Atlanta back in February, I had to quit my job. And it’s been more challenging than I expected to find another school psych job. So I’m doing some contract work and working at Lifetime Fitness … but I’m definitely feeling some anxiety about my future profession. I’m just trying to pray and trust that He will provide, as He always has! 🙂 Take care and keep us updated!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 13, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Thank you, Kristen! I can only imagine, I’m sure moving to a new city is very overwhelming! Everything will work out :).

  10. Brittany May 13, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    I will be praying for you Emily! I know it can be scary, but it is also an exciting time! No one wants to be stuck in a job where they are miserable! I’m glad you had the courage and faith to leave and look for a new position. Keep us posted!

  11. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries May 13, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    Good for you Emily! You should be doing what you love and not feel stuck in a position you hate. I’ve been thinking alot about doing what you love and loving what you do and have thought about making a change. The only thing holding me back is that I”m so lucky to work for the company I work for and in this economy it would be silly to throw away such a great opportunity to jump into something new. I’m happy for you, goodluck!! 🙂

  12. Sara @ Nourish and Flourish May 14, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    Oh, Emily, I’m so excited for you! Even though the unknown that accompanies this new adventure is scary, there is so much to gain and learn in the process! I know that there are GREAT things in store for you. Hone in on your passions, never settle, and you”ll end up right where you’re supposed to be!

    In December I’ll embark on a similar job-hunting journey, and while I’m nervous, I truly believe that there IS a plan for each of us. Our job is to learn how to enjoy the ride. 😀 xoxo ❤

Leave a Reply

