In a Good Place

14 May

These past couple of weeks have been a whirlwind. I’ve conquered fears and accomplished things that I never thought I could.

I quit my job.

I signed up to run my first half marathon.

I ran my first mud run.

I climbed to heights I’d never thought I’d reach — literally (more on that later this week).

I did it. And accomplishing those things makes me realize that I can get through just about anything.

Exactly two months from now, I will be getting married. Nerves and stress are beginning to kick in. Jordan and I are meeting with the pastor of our church to go over the ceremony tonight, and I’m sending out the majority of our invitations today. My final bridal shower is this Saturday, and my bachelorette party is only a little over a month away. It’s finally beginning to feel real!

Despite the fact that I don’t have a permanent job lined up for the fall, or a house to move into yet, I know that things will work out. I’m thankful for this little bit of time off, because it gives me time to discover what it is that I want to do with my life, while finalizing all of the important details for the wedding.

As unknown as my future is right now, I’m in a good place.

Are you in a good place?

 

14 Responses to “In a Good Place”

  1. Danica @ It's Progression May 14, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    Love this post 🙂 so happy for you!
    The stress of prepping for this wedding, moving into our now home, and job hunting definitely get to me at times but when I think about all that I’m blessed with it reminds me to be happy that I’m able to do the many things I’m doing right now, no matter how crazy life gets. Your good attitude is contagious!

  2. TheNewHealthy May 14, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    That’s so awesome that you’re in a good place despite the wedding stressors! You’re right when you say everything will work itself out – somehow it always does! 🙂

  3. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions May 14, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    It’s wonderful to hear that you’re in a good place 🙂 I feel like there are so many things that could easily stress you out, and it’s great to see that you have faith that everything will work out. That’s tough to maintain! Way to be 🙂

  4. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition May 14, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Wow- What a month for you. I’m very proud of you for having the courage and confidence in yourself to do all of that.

    You go girl! : )

  5. savorlifesflavors May 14, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Great post! Sometimes it’s so hard to find a good place among all the stress and change. You are giving me some hope too 🙂

  6. Brittney @ Brittney Breathing May 14, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Things will work out! Just found your blog…noticed you went to Purdue for a bit..that’s where I went! Woohoo Indiana! 🙂

  7. HollieisFueledByLOLZ May 14, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

    This is such a fantastic post! I am also in a good spot. Everything is just clicking in the right spot for me as well. 🙂

  8. ragingsofaninsanegirl May 14, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    So glad you’re in a good place! It feels so good to finally know that you’re doing something right. If you’re interested in teaching, my mom teaches the 2/3 high ability class at Reagan and my aunt teaches the same thing at White Lick. They both have lots of contacts and insights. You could maybe also try to get a teaching assistant job? It would be full time. It obviously wouldn’t pay as much as you may want, but it would be foot in the door!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 15, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Oh yeah, now I remember that your mom’s a teacher! I think she’s friends with Chris Chadd — and I had her in 6th grade. I might be in contact if I need to get my foot in the door, thank you!

  9. Baking Serendipity May 15, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    I think I’m in a good place too 🙂 I’m finishing my job in two weeks, and moving back across the country to live with family in Ohio. There’s a lot of unknowns in my life too, but I have good feelings about what’s to come!

  10. Cait @ Beyond Bananas May 15, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    YAY! So happy for all of these positive things in your life – and your outlook is amazing! Good for you!

  11. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries May 15, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    So happy for you! Looks like things are going AMAZING for you and I couldn’t be happier 🙂 Yay for you Emily!!

  12. fruitacious May 15, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    congrats girl! I’m so glad you’re happy!

Leave a Reply

