First Day Jitters

16 May

It’s been one year since I’ve been in a classroom, two years since I’ve been in an elementary school classroom. So naturally, when I got a phone call last night asking me to substitute teach this week, I could feel the butterflies in my stomach. I held my breath as I waited to hear which grade I was needed in, and felt myself relax when the caller said the one word that I wanted to hear – “kindergarten.”

Tomorrow, I will be going back to school as a (substitute) kindergarten teacher. When I was an elementary education major, I spent half of a semester observing in a kindergarten classroom, and it is one of my favorite age groups, so I am very excited. I am also very nervous.

So nervous, that I was almost tempted to say, “No, I’m not available,” when I got the call last night. Of course, I didn’t. I chose to quit my job. I chose to follow this new career path. I can’t let fear get in my way.

Starting a new job is always scary — it’s the fear of the unknown, I suppose. But with this job, I will have 20 or so little lives in my hands. It’s a big responsibility!

I will probably lay out my clothes tonight, pack my lunch before I go to bed, throw a couple of books into my bag just in case we run out of things to do tomorrow (you never know?); and I will pretend to be as confident as I can be.

I wonder if the kids know that adults get first day jitters too :)?

If you’re a teacher, what do you expect from your subs? Have you ever subbed?

Do you get nervous on the first day of a new job?



28 Responses to “First Day Jitters”

  1. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 16, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Aw, this is so exciting! I’ll be praying that everything goes smoothly for you!

  2. kitkat1126 May 16, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Hope today goes well, looking forward to hearing about it! I always get pre-jitters with anyhting new – job, classes, social events, etc!

    • healthhappinessandharmony May 16, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

      There are three books, “First Day Jitters,” “First Year Letters,” and, “Last Day Blues,” all by Julie Danneburg that you would LOVE….especially “First Day Jitters”. The past six years I have read it the first day of school, read the second book in the middle, and the last book at the end of the year. It’s a hit with the children. πŸ™‚

      • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 16, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

        I’ve read “First Day Jitters,” but I haven’t read the other ones. I’ll have to check them out! Thanks πŸ™‚

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 16, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Thank you!

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ May 16, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Good luck. I know the feeling of observing. I did a lot of that during my education major days. You’ll do great! πŸ™‚

  4. squigglefloey May 16, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    Congrats! you’ll do fine!! Did you need your teaching credential for this?

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 17, 2012 at 6:21 am #

      No, just college credits! Thanks!

      • squigglefloey May 17, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

        Oooh…EEC…or Early Education something rather? I’ve seen a few PT teaching jobs that I thought of applying too, but they required some education units that I don’t have (I was a journalism major) — and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go back to school to get those credits…
        Excited to hear how your first day went! I’m sure you were fantastic!

        • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 17, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

          No, it depends on the school district, but usually they’ll accept any type of college credits! I have my Bachelor’s in Communication, but I know you don’t even have to finish college to be accepted. You should look into those jobs, you might not have to go back to school!

          • squigglefloey May 17, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

            Oh…is it with an after school program?

          • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 17, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

            No, I’m substitute teaching.

          • squigglefloey May 17, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

            Ahhh icic. In California they require you to take the CBEST first and pass it before you can apply to be a substitute.

          • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 17, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

            Yeah, I’ve heard that some states are like that! And sometimes it just depends on the school district. I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing.

  5. fitandfuninthird May 16, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I’m so excited to hear how it went!!! I’m sure you did great today and the kids loved you πŸ™‚
    I don’t really “expect” anything crazy from my substitutes, just to keep the kids safe and have fun!

  6. Brittany May 16, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    I’m sure that you will do great with the kiddos! Can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  7. savorlifesflavors May 16, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    Congrats and good luck!

  8. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries May 17, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Hope you had a wonderful first day Emily!! I’m sure you were GREAT πŸ™‚

  9. Emily@lovemypumpkins May 17, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I teach third grade. I always appreciate the subs that leave me a note about the day and what was accomplished. I also like to request subs that leave my room tidy. There’s nothing worse that coming back from being gone and having to deal with a mess on top of everything else. I can’t wait to hear about your day. I’m sure you’ll do great!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 18, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      I did leave a note, and I picked up the room as best as I could. One boy thought it was fun to break crayons into pieces, so that’s a little difficult to get off of the floor without the help of a janitor!

  10. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles May 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Aw! ….Hope it all goes well- at least they are at the end of their Kindergarten year- it is different than beginning Kindergarteners. I LOVE KINDERGARTEN!…. Kindergarten teacher was my first year of teaching and I fell in love with it- the first day of Kindergarten as the teacher was waaaay scarier than when I was 5!
    What I expected from my subs when I taught Kindergarten- that my kids would be safe and that my kids were well behaved. That was all. Enjoy the day!

  11. Kailey May 17, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Hope you had fun!! Kindergarten is such a great age when kids don’t care what others think πŸ™‚

  12. Harriet May 18, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    How’d it go?! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

