A Michigan Bridal Shower

21 May

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that I am originally from Michigan, and that is where the majority of my family still lives. So, instead of having my side of the family’s bridal shower in Indiana, my mom and I decided that it would make more sense to drive up there. And that is exactly what we did on Friday morning.

After a long day of substitute teaching on Thursday, I was looking forward to getting away for the weekend. Around 9:00 on Friday morning, my mom, sisters and I packed up and began the five hour drive. The shower was being held in the dining room of my grandma’s condo complex, so we had a few things to take care of when we arrived in the afternoon. Instead of stopping at the hotel, we decided to drive straight to the sushi restaurant to order a platter of sushi for Saturday, and then we went to my grandma’s condo to meet up with the coordinator and discuss all of the details. They were very accommodating and provided all of the linens, plates, cups and silverware, which made things much easier on us! We spent the rest of the evening catching up with my aunts and cousins, who came into town early for the shower. And before we went back to the hotel to go to bed, we made sure to make a stop at Ritter’s Frozen Custard.

The perfect ending to an already great day :).

On Saturday morning, we had an early wake-up call so we could get everything ready for the shower. My sister and I hit up the hotel gym for a quick sweat session, before showering and grabbing breakfast.

By 9:45, we were ready and out the door. We picked up the balloons, sandwich platter and cake, and then went to the room to set up. It was already 80 degrees and sunny, a beautiful day for a shower!

Our guests began arriving 15 minutes early, so we had to rush to set everything up, and before we knew it, the party had started!

The shower began with a game of bridal bingo, led by my mom and sisters. Instead of playing along, I helped my younger cousins (also flower girls).


After a few rounds of bingo, it was time to eat! 

I had a little bit of everything – kale salad, fruit salad, turkey wraps and sushi. The food was a hit!

And I can’t forget the cake.

The cake was vanilla with a cheesecake filling — so, so good!

After everyone had had their fair share of food, it was time to open presents. Unlike the last shower, I was a little less nervous this time around.

See that yellow and blue bag on top of the wine glasses? It actually holds a casserole dish, and my cousin made it! It’s so cute!

Before I knew it, the shower was over, and it was time to pack up all of the gifts. I am extremely grateful for everything I received, and so thankful that all of my family was able to get together!

The rest of our time in Michigan was spent hanging out with family and going to bed early on Saturday night — we were tired! We woke up early to go home on Sunday morning, and unfortunately, I woke up with a cold. It made for a somewhat miserable ride home, but since coming home, I’ve been resting on the couch, hoping that I feel better tomorrow. I’m just glad that I still felt okay for the shower!

It really was a wonderful weekend, and I’m so grateful for all of the women I have in my life.

My grandmas

My mom and sisters (also my maids of honor)

My cousin (also one of my bridesmaids — I can’t believe it’s been over 7 months since I was in her wedding!)

I’m sad that my showers are now over, but I have a wedding to look forward to in less than two months! Time is going to fly.

What did you do over the weekend?

Who are the important women in your life?

18 Responses to “A Michigan Bridal Shower”

  1. Em ... Living & Learning May 21, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    first off that frozen custard looks amazing & secondly, your bridal shower turned out BEAUTIFUL. so glad to hear you enjoyed it!

  2. peaceloveandoats May 21, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    Your dress looks so pretty, you were beautiful! Glad you had a great time with the women in your family!

  3. notsodomesticated May 21, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    I love the dress … so pretty!! 🙂 Looks like you had an incredible time. Enjoy all of these moments … they go so quickly!

  4. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition May 21, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    What a wonderful bridal shower weekend with family and friends. I’m obsessed with your dress! I think I just tried that on…. urban or A&E? (I shop too much) haha

  5. fitandfuninthird May 21, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    What a beautiful shower!!! I’m so happy that you had a great time… and I LOVE your dress! So cute! 🙂

  6. Rebecca @ Blueberry Smiles May 21, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Looks like such a wonderful day! Congrats! And wow- vanilla with cheesecake frosting sounds like an amazing combo

  7. savorlifesflavors May 21, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    I LOVE your dress! Glad you had fun at your second shower 🙂

  8. ragingsofaninsanegirl May 21, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Several things:
    1) I MISS RITTER’S!!!
    2) Your bridal shower food looks good!
    3) Vanilla and cheesecake cake. Awesome.
    4) LOVE your dress. I know you post about this later, but whatever. : )
    5) I don’t have a fifth thing, but saying only 4 things feels incomplete!

  9. Danica @ It's Progression May 22, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    That cheesecake-filled cake sounds fantastic! Glad you had a great time!
    I had my last bridal shower on Sunday and I know the feeling–sad they’re all over yet now the wedding is even closer and obviously that’s extremely exciting 🙂

  10. squigglefloey May 22, 2012 at 3:50 am #

    you look gorgeous!
    i’ve never tried frozen custard…should probably get on that

Leave a Reply

