WIAW #5: Out of Town Eats

23 May

Instead of boring you with my breakfasts, lunches and dinners that look very similar, now that I’ve been spending plenty of time at home, I thought I’d let you in on the food that I ate while I was out of town. I must admit, when I go out of town, I don’t always eat the healthiest food. I like to squeeze in workouts when I can, but I’m much more lenient when it comes to what I eat, especially because I’m usually eating out. I think that I kept a somewhat healthy balance this weekend, but you can be the judge. As always, check out Peas and Crayons if you’d like to participate in WIAW.

Saturday Breakfast (8:30am)

After a 30 minute treadmill workout at the hotel gym, I grabbed breakfast from the breakfast bar. I toasted an English muffin and spread half with jelly, half with peanut butter. On the side, I had some strawberry Activia yogurt, and a cup of hot tea to drink.Β 

Lunch (1:30pm)

After running around and preparing for the shower, I was more than ready to eat when it was time. I helped myself to big servings of both the kale & Brussels sprout and fruit salads, and finished my plate off with one turkey wrap and a few pieces of sushi. I probably could’ve gone back for more, but brides can’t eat too much I had to save room for a piece of vanilla cake with cheesecake filling.

Dinner (7:30pm)

By the time dinner rolled around, my throat was achy (the beginning signs of my cold), but I was still hungry and knew I needed to eat something besides sugar. Before heading back to the hotel, my sisters, mom and I went to one of my favorite Michigan restaurants, Olga’s. I had the grilled chicken Olga — basically, a pita filled with grilled chicken, lettuce, tomatoes and plain Greek yogurt. The yogurt is what makes the sandwich! Curly fries came on the side.

Dessert (8:30pm)

Remember how I said I didn’t need anymore sugar? Well, that thought didn’t last for long. After dinner, my sisters and I were craving something sweet, and I needed something cool to soothe my throat. Since we don’t have one near us at home, we made one last trip to Ritter’s. I had a coconut chocolate chip “Glacier” (similar to a DQ Blizzard, but with frozen custard). Sidenote: If you’ve never tried frozen custard, do it (at least once in your lifetime). It’s good.

Sunday Breakfast (9:30am)

When we went down for breakfast on Sunday morning, the room was packed and the food was picked over, so we decided to check out of the hotel and grab something on the way home. We made a quick stop at Panera, where I ordered a bagel with bacon, egg whites and cheese. I also grabbed a cup of hot tea from the hotel before leaving.

As you can see, it wasn’t the healthiest of weekends, but I was there for a celebration, and I don’t regret my food choices. Now, if I can just get over this cold and back into my workout routine, I will feel better :).

Do you save treats for the weekend?

Do you feel guilty if you indulge too much?

23 Responses to “WIAW #5: Out of Town Eats”

  1. Sara @ The Foodie Diaries May 23, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    It seems as if I always fall off the healthy eating wagon on the weekends too! Lately I’ve been trying not to indulge TOO much, but if I want some frozen yogurt you can bet I’m going to get it! πŸ™‚

  2. mindrunningwild May 23, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    maintaining your regular schedule is harder when you’re out of town. I think you should just pat yourself on the back! After all, you can never expect perfection πŸ™‚
    greek yogurt on a sandwich? Sounds good to me. Although those fries look perfectly curly and crisp.
    custard? never had it but I”ve heard it is to die for.
    I always remind myself that life is long and days aren’t in isolation- one ‘mess up’ won’t ruin my life.

  3. notsodomesticated May 23, 2012 at 7:54 am #

    Frozen custard is the bomb (throw-back phrase from 1995, but necessary in this case). I love all types of frozen treats, but I think frozen custard may just be my favorite. πŸ™‚

  4. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles May 23, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Mmmm, frozen custard- it has been years! It is stinking delicious though! When I lived on the east coast I fell in love with the stuff but it is nowhere around the midwest that I live. bummer. You’re right- it’s amazing!
    Oh heavens yes- I feel guilty when I indulge more than what I think I should. I have gotten a little better at letting go but it is hard some days.

  5. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 23, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Those Activia yogurts are pretty good! I love the peach and vanilla ones!

    I haven’t had frozen custard in years but I remember it being delicious!

  6. MassachusEATS May 23, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    I try to keep on the healthier side of things all week so that I can indulge a bit on the weekends! And I have never had frozen custard but will hafta seek it out now! πŸ˜‰

  7. Danica @ It's Progression May 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    I definitely indulge when I travel, but your choices aren’t too shabby, girl! I figure if I’m (and I’m sure you too) eating well when I’m not traveling I’m doing pretty good because more often than not I’m at home cooking my own food πŸ™‚

  8. Emily Butler May 23, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Your weekend eats look amazing, I’ve been in such an ice cream kick lately! I’ve been eyeing up the new cake batter blizzard at dair queen….

  9. Em ... Living & Learning May 23, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    i can’t say that i’ve ever had frozen custard, but after seeing that picture i can say i need to try it asap!

  10. Caitlin May 23, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    I adore frozen custard! I’ve had it one time, at a walk-up window on a hot TX night. Oh man did it hit the spot. That pita with the plain yogurt sounds sooo good! And sounds like it’d be easy to make at home.

    I often feel guilty for indulging, especially when I have a cocktail or some wine, but I’m trying really hard to stop that. I feel guilty too often and life is too short to worry so much about something that’s not going to change me!

  11. cottercrunch May 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    nothin beat that sushi appetizer. I love those. Good out of town eats to me!

  12. ittybitsofbalance May 23, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Haha! I loved reading that you said you were done with sugar, then seeing a picture of the frozen custard right after. Hey, I don’t blame you– I do that kind of stuff ALL the time! Who can blame us if our stomachs are confused, right? πŸ˜‰

  13. fitandfuninthird May 23, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    I don’t intentionally “save” treats for the weekends, but it just ends up happening like that…. and when I do indulge, I TRY not to feel guilty, but a lot of times I feel some guilt. I’m really working on getting passed that feeling though, and I’ve gotten much better at accepting those times and moving forward!

  14. yellowhaired1 May 23, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    That pita looks fabulous!

  15. savorlifesflavors May 23, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    The weekends are when I go crazy with my food. I haven’t had a “healthy weekend” in months!

  16. erinmotz May 23, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    That dessert looks so delicious right now! And I never feel guilty for enjoying my food πŸ™‚ I rarely over-do it so I savor every bite, all the way!

  17. In Sweetness and In Health May 23, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    I need to try frozen custard! I don’t know why I haven’t haha. I always say I’m done with sugar and then eat something else later hehe…it happens right? πŸ™‚

  18. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions May 24, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    Whoa, is Olga’s really just a Michigan thing? I had no idea!

    Solid choice with Ritter’s, as well. It’s been sooooo long (too long, really) since I’ve had their custard. There’s a Culver’s a lot closer, so that tends to get my business nowadays (like when they have $1 shakes every weekday in May from 2-4 p.m. omg. So good and so bad at the same time haha).

  19. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition May 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

    I tend to have a little treat every day. Helps me have control over them and not indulge too much

Leave a Reply

