Friday Things

25 May

1. The most exercise I’ve gotten this week is a two mile walk around my subdivision — and that was an accomplishment. I was just glad I made it a whole 30 minutes without having to blow my nose.

2. Speaking of blowing my nose, I have officially gone through three boxes of Kleenex in less than one week. I’ve also used my neti pot more times than I can count. If Jordan no longer finds me attractive, I won’t be offended.

3. Today, I am substitute teaching in fifth grade. Quite the opposite of kindergarten, I’d say. My background is in grades K-3, so I’m anxious to see how it goes.

4. I just finished reading this book. I highly recommend it.

5. I plan on starting this book next. It’s written by a blogger, and I just can’t get enough of her family. Read her blog, at least one time. Her photos will make you melt.

6. Sleep and I have not been friends lately. When you agree to substitute teach, you agree to be on-call during early hours of the morning. Waiting for the phone to ring (or not ring) makes me anxious.

7. I recently learned that my fiancé can do a yoga tripod on cue. I, on the other hand, can barely manage downward dog. I mean, really? Life’s not fair ;).

8. Speaking of yoga, I think it might be time to give it another try. I’ve never been a fan, but it’d be a good way for me to strengthen my arms and abs before the wedding, without the added stress that weight training puts on my body. Bethenny Frankel swears by it… maybe (eventually) I will too?


Do you practice yoga?

How often have you worked out this week?

 

 

19 Responses to “Friday Things”

  1. notsodomesticated May 25, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    Careful with the neti pot. I used to use one, as well, but I’ve heard some mixed things about them … evidently they can possibly be dangerous? You might want to do a google search to get more information. 🙂

    Have a good weekend, Emily!!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 25, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Yeah, they’re dangerous if you don’t use filtered water, but I do :). I’ve used one for years, and it works! Thank you, you too!

  2. HollieisFueledByLOLZ May 25, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    I can’t do yoga to save my life so I feel you on that one. Feel better! 🙂

  3. Danica @ It's Progression May 25, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    Yoga is probably the hardest workout for me….I never liked it until I bought Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown video. It’s still hard for me (even though I’ve done it tons and tons of times) but I like it more than any other kind of yoga I’ve done…maybe you could try that! 🙂

  4. This Life Is Sparkling May 25, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I can’t believe you put that picture on the Internet. Good thing Jordan doesn’t read your blog… 😉

  5. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign May 25, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    I feel ya…I’m not a huge fan of yoga either. I’m trying out a new class next month so we’ll see how that goes!

    I’ve never used a neti pot…do they help?

    Good luck with student teaching! That would be hard to be on call each morning…getting up and getting ready if you don’t have to be somewhere right away.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy May 25, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

      Yeah, it does work! If you ever use one, just make sure to use filtered water, because people have gotten really sick from using tap water.

  6. Em ... Living & Learning May 25, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    It’s so annoying how easily boys can do stuff that girls struggle with! And I’ve worked out every week this week except for today and I’ll be going till Monday with no workouts bc my only concern is some serious beach time right now haha! Hope you feel better soon and good luck with fifth graders!

  7. healthhappinessandharmony May 25, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Yoga I’ve tried once or twice, but I certainly wouldn’t call that practicing. Over the summer last year I did Pilates, and it was challenging but I loved it.
    I worked out Monday-yesterday so far. Hopefully I’ll get another one in today or tomorrow. I aim for 4-6 times a week.

  8. savorlifesflavors May 25, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    I hate yoga. I am not flexible and I have zero core strength! I have only worked out twice this week. I try for at least 4 times a week.

  9. Erica @ For the Sake of Cake May 26, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    I have never been a fan of yoga, but I feel like I’m missing something since so many people love it. I always feel sort of silly! I keep meaning to check my gym’s class schedule to see if there’s a designated beginner’s class.

  10. Kailey May 26, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    hope you start feeling better asap!!
    I know my mom said the first year I went to school was when she became the most sick because of all the germs 😦

  11. Brittany May 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    I hope you get better soon friend!! I have done some yoga on youtube. Jillian Michael’s yoga level one is on there for free!

Leave a Reply

