It’s Going to Be a Fun Summer

5 Jun

So….I survived my first day of camp! Actually, it was much better than just “surviving.” I had so much fun! I worked at a different summer camp for four summers during college, and I had heard that the camp I’m working at now is much different, so I didn’t know what to expect. It ended up being a very relaxed day, and the time just flew by. Since this is week is themed “Wonderful World of Disney,” yesterday was Toy Story day. We played ‘Pin the Star on Woody,’ ‘Guess the Toy Story Character’ and ‘Don’t Step on the Asteroid.’ The kids made their own Mr. Potato Heads, and we even made “Alien Fizz” (lime sherbet+Sprite = highlight of the day for the kiddos). Today is Monsters Inc. day, and I think it’ll be a blast!

Despite having a great day, getting back into a work routine is tough, so I quickly changed into my workout clothes and headed to the gym to take a class as soon as I got home. I knew that if I entered the class, I wouldn’t leave before the 45 minutes was over. By the time I finished at the gym and ran some errands, I was exhausted. I still had to whip up a nice homemade dinner, of course.

Or not ;).

If you’re ever in a time crunch, CedarLane‘s Baked Stacked Eggplant, found in the natural foods section of Kroger, is delicious. It only takes six minutes in the microwave, and the nutrition stats aren’t half bad either.

And with that, I am off to pick up my friend for work. Have a great Tuesday!

Do you enjoy starting a new job, or do you have to transition into it?

17 Responses to “It’s Going to Be a Fun Summer”

  1. fitandfuninthird June 5, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    How fun!!! I usually get really anxious starting new jobs but once I learn the ropes I get super excited!

  2. Em ... Living & Learning June 5, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    ahhh toy story day & now monsters inc day! what a FUN theme, I’m actually kind of jealous! Enjoy!

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ June 5, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    I’m glad you had such a fun time! It sounds like a great time. I did summer camp for a few years and absolutely loved it!

  4. di @ life of di. June 5, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Yum – the eggplant looks really good! πŸ™‚

  5. In Sweetness and In Health June 5, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Glad you had a great time with camp!! I always get so nervous with new jobs

  6. runningchickago June 5, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    glad you had fun at camp!! πŸ™‚

  7. notsodomesticated June 5, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    Aw I’m so glad you had a good day! I hope the rest of the summer is just as enjoyable!

  8. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions June 5, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Wooo summer camp! That sounds like such a fun theme week. My camp always has theme weeks, but we don’t do a whole lot with the themes (save for Fridays, which are always theme day).

  9. savorlifesflavors June 5, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    I hate transition but it can be good to start fresh! Hope you enjoy the summer!

  10. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign June 5, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    Toy Story Day? Oh my goodness, that makes me wish I could work at that camp! This sounds like such a fun summer job! You are so lucky! πŸ˜€

  11. squigglefloey June 6, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    So glad you’re enjoying your new job!!!<333. Are you going back to school then?

  12. kitkat1126 June 6, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I try to look at new jobs/transition as a fresh start but I definitely stress a little first. I like to get into routines as soon as possible!

    That eggplant sounds yummy!

  13. YourDailyGrace June 6, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Oh my gosh! That sounds like so much fun!

  14. Michelle June 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I always like the first few days of a new job because everything is so new and exciting, but I’m usually exhausted afterward!

Leave a Reply

