WIAW #9 : Wedding Week

11 Jul

I cannot believe how quickly this week is flying by. After the wedding, I’ll probably stop saying things like that ;). This week, I’ve been spending my time packing up clothes, organizing my our closet, hanging pictures, and spending an embarrassing amount of money at Target and Bed Bath and Beyond. I’ve also been trying my best to eat as healthy as possible, but I’m not going to be too hard on myself either (I’ve gone a whole three days without ice cream, that’s progress ;)). That brings me to this week’s What I Ate Wednesday, brought to us by the lovely Jenn.

Breakfast (8:30am)

I was craving something sweet this morning (per usual), so I whipped up some Kodiak Cakes and topped them with Nutella. Not the healthiest pancake topping in the world, but it hit the spot. I also had a cup of green tea on the side.

Lunch (12:30pm)

I spent the morning transferring nearly the entire contents of my current closet into my apartment closet, and was hangry by the time I got home. I had a salad with mixed greens, strawberries, Feta cheese and sunflower seeds, and a bowl of tomato bisque soup on the side, with Cheez-Its for dipping.

Snack (4:30pm)

After lunch, I went back to the apartment to organize my shoes and our hall closet, and by the time I got home again, I was hungry. I had a bowl of Quaker Oatmeal Squares with coconut milk before lying down for a quick nap — a “quick” nap which ended up lasting an hour and a half — I guess I was tired!

Dinner (8:45pm)

I only meant to take a 30 minute nap, so waking up after an hour and a half of sleep was rough. I didn’t get around to making dinner until way too late, but I was still hungry for something filling. I made spaghetti with light Parmesan Alfredo sauce, sauteed mushrooms, diced tomatoes and red pepper flakes. It was so easy, but very good!

Dessert (9:15pm)

We’ve had s’more stuff lying in the kitchen since the 4th of July, so I decided to make one after dinner. They never get old!

As far as the fitness portion of this week’s WIAW goes, I’ve been doing my best to listen to my body. I took a 45 minute spinning class on Monday (which kicked my butt, by the way), and let myself rest on Tuesday when I was feeling worn out. Today’s workout will consist of a power walk with my friend and a yoga video. I hope to get in a good strength workout on Thursday, and a nice run on Friday, and then I’ll play the weekend by ear. I’ve read blogs where brides exercise on the morning of their wedding — and I’d love to go for a walk just to calm my nerves and stretch out a bit — but we’ll see how much sleep I get on Friday night! Time to get ready to meet my friend for a walk. Have a  great day!

Do you like s’mores?

Did you exercise on the morning of your wedding?

17 Responses to “WIAW #9 : Wedding Week”

  1. Lauren July 11, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    3 more days!!!! You sound like you’re getting a lot done and YAY for your nap!!

    • Lauren July 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      Oh and yes, of course I love s’mores… Try them with a Reese Cup instead of a chocolate piece it’s SO good!

  2. Kristen @ notsodomesticated July 11, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    No I did not workout the day of my wedding. But back then, I wasn’t working out at all. I had taken a majorly long hiatus from anything fitness-related haha. I didn’t get back into to working out until just over a year ago!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 11, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      Oh, I didn’t know that! I’m thinking that I might not. It’ll be too stressful to worry about that on top of everything else!

  3. HollieisFueledByLOLZ July 11, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    You are right. Smores never ever get old and that Reese’s idea sounds amazing. Listening to your body is the most important que for working out ever.

  4. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign July 11, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    I LOVE smores! I always look forward to your WIAW posts because I feel like I eat very similar to you–your posts give me good meal and snack ideas!

    I planned on working out the morning of my wedding, but then nixed it when I remembered how much I needed to get done before we got to the chapel.

  5. Chelcie's Food Files July 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    i LOVE smores..yum!

  6. Brittany July 11, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    I’m so excited for you this weekend girl!!! 🙂 I didn’t workout the morning of my wedding. I relaxed and soaked it all in!

  7. jessie July 12, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    LOVE smore’s!! i haven’t had one in the longest time though 😦 No where to have a camp fire here.. i guess i could go the other route & just microwave them though!

    No i didn’t workout before my wedding, only because i wasn’t as into fitness as i am now. If i was, i probably would’ve though. Even if it just consisted of a little walk.

  8. Danica @ It's Progression July 12, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    I went for a run with several family members on the morning of my wedding. I wasn’t sure if that was the best idea, but we went nice and slow and I felt so much better afterward. It was definitely worth it and I’d suggest doing something nice and easy, just to get your heart pumping a little before the big day begins 🙂

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy July 12, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      That sounds nice! We have to leave at 8:30am for our hair appointments, so it’s going to depend on how much sleep I get :).

  9. capeislandrunners July 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    I did the same thing as danica – running helps me mark the important days of my life. so it was not a workout, but more a fun run with some family and bridal party members. one of my fav parts of the day!! happy wedding day!

  10. caloricandcrazy July 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    S’mores!!! I haven’t had them in a while since it’s hard to find marshmallows without gelatin 😦

Leave a Reply

