Thursday Thoughts

2 Aug

I’m going to take a break from my honeymoon series to give you some insight into my life, post-wedding. I’ll be back tomorrow with another recap!

1. I think I may be suffering from the post-wedding blues. I’m pretty sure this is a real thing, just ask a few recent brides. It’s not that I’m unhappy being married, or that I’m sad because I’m back home from Hawaii (okay, I’m a little sad about that), but I’m just kind of bummed that one of the biggest events in my life is over. No more texts, no more emails, no more being the center of attention. It goes by so fast.

2. I am currently unemployed. Ugh, I hate that word. While Jordan goes to work every morning, easing his way back into a routine, I have a much simpler days, which usually consist of making the bed, doing laundry, hitting the gym if I feel like it, and washing some dishes by hand — just because I have the extra time. I’m guessing that this is why my post-wedding blues are more magnified — I don’t have anything to distract myself from them.

3. Being unemployed means having plenty of time to watch the Olympics. Yesterday morning, I watched the girls’ gymnastics team win the gold, and I was so happy for them, I almost cried. I seriously don’t know how those girls do it. I took gymnastics when I was in elementary school, and I could barely manage a cartwheel. A career in gymnastics was definitely not God’s intention for me, though every time the Olympics is on, I so wish it was ;).

Source

5. Speaking of careers, at this point in my life, I thought I would have one. I had dinner with two of my friends last night, both who just accepted teaching positions and start their full-time careers next week. While I’m so happy for them, I’m also frustrated that I’m still sitting here, wondering what it is that I want to do. I have multiple passions, that’s the problem…

Can I be a professional fro-yo eater…? No…?

6. I begin my half marathon training plan on Monday! I decided to go with a plan I found in Runner’s World, which consists of three days of running per week, plus cross training. It might not always be easy, but it’s definitely doable, and I’m excited to get started!

7. My sister is coming over today to eat lunch and go swimming. I can see these dates becoming a common occurrence as long as it stays as hot as it’s been — in the 90s for 40+ days straight. I’m excited to get some fresh air and spend some time with my sis!

Have a great Thursday!

Have you always known what type of career is the best fit for you?

How long after college did it take for you to find a career that you love?

22 Responses to “Thursday Thoughts”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin August 2, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Glad you are finding the little joys of this time off. All the olympic picture seriously blow my mind, how cool!

  2. Melissa @ Mouthwatering Morsel August 2, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    I start my new job on Monday and I am not ready. But I don’t think it’s the best fit for me. I feel like I just HAD to pick a major and went with it and now I’m a little depressed knowing I won’t have much human interaction and I had hoped. /:

  3. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions August 2, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Yikes! 40+ days of 90s?? I could not handle that.

    I had a conversation with a friend who was struggling with the whole “WHAT DO I DO WITH MY LIFE?!?!” thing about a year and a half go, and his argument was that he did have That One Thing that “got him out of bed in the morning.” I was doing my internship at the time (an internship I really enjoyed), and I remember telling him that I didn’t hop out of bed every morning all smiles and rainbows because I was so excited to go to work…but that didn’t mean that I hated my job. I’m sure there are people out there who are so insanely passionate about one thing that what they should do with their lives was never a question, but I think those people are the exception rather than the rule. I also think we allow ourselves to believe that those super passionate people are NOT the exception, and that’s where problems being. I know the whole “do what you love” argument is really popular, and I’m not saying that it’s a bad idea to pursue what you love, but I think it can be easy to get too caught up in that mindset. Do I love absolutely everything about the job I have right now? No. Am I ever going to find a job where I love absolutely every single aspect of it? I doubt it. I loved hanging out with kids all day when I worked at camp…but I didn’t love working 10 hours a day for significantly less than minimum wage. I love the right now I’m working at a job that directly relates to what I studied at school…but I don’t love how long it takes me to get to work and I don’t love sitting at a desk all day. In both cases, though, it’s not that I didn’t/don’t like what I was doing/am doing. I don’t think the key to finding a career is seeking out something that you’ll love completely, because in this imperfect world I don’t think that’s possible. I think the key is finding something where the positives outweigh the negatives enough that when you head home at the end of the day, you’re satisfied with what you’ve done.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 2, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      You’re so right. It’s just hard being friends with people who have always known that they want to do with their lives. I just can’t let it get to my head, I guess!

  4. Kailey August 2, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Sorry to hear about post wedding blues, but just think of all the joys you’ll have in marriage!! Good luck with training 🙂

  5. Mel (mmmstories) August 2, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Have you thought about sending your resume into a recruiting firm? They can talk through your likes, interests and skills and see what sort of opportunities may best fit you. I have friends both on the recruiting side and the client side and they have had some positive things to say. Worth a shot! Just do a quick Google or LinkedIN search for firms you can trust or ones that cater to a field you’d be interested in (some specialize in IT, marketing, sales, or just general).

  6. peaceloveandoats August 2, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    we are sooo in the same place. I have so many things I love, how do I find the perfect career?

  7. Danica @ It's Progression August 2, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    -I can totally relate to the “post wedding blues!” I didn’t think I would ever feel like that but it’s crazy going from being called all the time by family to not hearing from hardly anyone for weeks! Settling into a little bit of a routine will help with that though….
    -As far as the job part goes though…I’ll be 100% honest right now and say that even though I’ve (thankfully) found a job to start soon, I don’t know if it’s what I want to do for the rest of my life. I discovered this passion of healthy living later than I wish I would have and I often dream about pursuing something in that field rather than what I’m in! It’s so hard to know…

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 2, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      Oh my gosh, I can definitely relate. I wish that I would’ve went to school for something health-related, but I can’t turn back time.

  8. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign August 2, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    I love the gymnastics events too! That little Gabby is so adorable! I wish we lived by each other so we could have a froyo date!

    I never thought I’d be a freelancer–I always wanted to work in a huge corporate environment…until I discovered I don’t do well with such tight boundaries and that I’m such an introvert! I love my job right now and hope to keep growing it into something bigger.

    You’ll figure out the job situation–until then, enjoy your laid-back days! 😀

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 2, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

      I know, I wish that we did too!

      I can relate. I always saw myself as a businesswoman in a corporate setting, or a writer at a big paper, but that impersonal environment is so not me. Now I’m considering becoming a teacher, but that will take more schooling. I know I’ll figure it out, but this in-between time is difficult!

  9. notsodomesticated August 2, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    Honestly, I don’t know if I’ll ever find a job that I completely and totally love. But I have realized that working as a psychologist in a school district has a lot of perks that I do enjoy!

  10. jessielovestorun August 2, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    I can absolutely relate to the whole “unemployed” feeling. When the hubs was offered this job here in Kuwait I couldn’t of been more excited. It was a new adventure for us, a new experience that so many people our age will most likely never get. Since moving here, things have been amazing, wonderful.. with the exception of being unemployed on my end. I never thought it’d be hard finding a job here, but I’ve sadly been proven wrong. I thought it’d be easy to get a job here on base as well.. again, wrong. I’m not saying I hate not working, but it gets hard sometimes.. especially when your husband is working 6 days a week for 10 hrs a day. I do the same things day in & day out. I actually just made it a goal for myself to @least take advantage of the situation and try out new foods throughout the day instead of sticking to my usual smoothie for breakfast & salad for lunch. I know our situation may not be exactlyy the same.. but you just need to continue to stay positive girl. Great things come to those who wait.. isn’t that how the saying goes? For now, enjoy your time being married and what life has to offer… oh and SMILE!

  11. squigglefloey August 3, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    I alllways thought I was going to be a writer, but now I know that’s not going to happen anytime soon (most likely). I feel you on the unemployed thing. My friends are getting full time jobs and getting engaged and I feel so…out of the loop! At least you have one of those down 😛

Leave a Reply

