Honeymoon Recap, Part 7: The Final Days

9 Aug

So, it’s here. My final honeymoon recap. Thank you for sticking with me through all 7 of them ;). When I left off, I had just celebrated my 24th birthday. After my birthday, we had two days left of vacation, and our days were wide open. On Monday, we hit the beach for the very last time.

I apologize for my picture of picture – this is from a water camera 🙂

Jordan jumped off of this cliff — Black Rock — while I watched, eyes half open, from the sand. Thankfully, the jump was a success :).

We shopped and ate frozen treats.

Frozen yogurt for me.

Haagen-Daz for Jordan.

And we ate at our favorite restaurant one last time.

Tuesday was our last day in Maui. We had to check out of our hotel room by noon, but our flight didn’t leave until 10:30 pm. We decided to hit the gym one last time before we grabbed breakfast and packed up our stuff. By 11:45 am, we were on the road, with a whole day to explore. 

We passed this cemetery every time we drove to our hotel, so we decided to check it out. The original immigrants of Maui are buried here. Many of them worked in the pineapple and sugarcane fields to try to make better lives for their families. The layout of the cemetery is much different than what you’d see in the Midwest, so we thought it was interesting.

Tuesday happened to be a particularly hot day, so we decided to go back to Old Lahaina Town, where our luau was, to shop. We shopped until we could shop no more, and then we walked to the movie theater and saw “Ice Age” so we could be in the air conditioning for a couple of hours :). By the time the movie ended, it was after 3:00 pm, and we decided to grab a late lunch/early dinner. We went to Cheeseburger in Paradise (different than the Jimmy Buffet chain that we have here), which I’d highly recommend.

Our table was right on the water, my Hawaiian chicken sandwich was delicious, and the prices were reasonable.

After we ate, we walked down the street to get shave ice. We had it earlier in the week, and wanted to experience it one more time before we left.

That sign is right. I am not a fan of snow cones, so I was a little nervous to try it, but it does not taste like a snow cone at all! It’s more like sherbet or ice cream. Jordan and I split a “Pretty Mama” with cream soda, root beer, and tiger’s blood flavors.

After we’d had our fill of shave ice, we got back in the car to start making our way towards the airport. At that point, we still had over 5 hours to kill. We found another mall and walked around it, we visited Whole Foods because I was intrigued to see what it’d look like in Maui (it looked the same, but smaller), and we went to Kmart to get snacks for our flight home. Eventually, we decided to return our rental car and wait out the rest of the time at the airport. We were already feeling exhausted.

At 10:30 pm Hawaii time, our flight took off, and we were on our way home. After making one connection in Phoenix, we arrived in Indianapolis around 4:00 pm. By that point, we’d been up for over 24 hours, and I was happy to home!

Of course, reality eventually sets in and you start to miss vacation. “Live with Kelly” is shooting from Hawaii this week, and watching those shows, combined with writing these posts,  is already making me want to go back :). Despite the little bumps that we had along the way, it was the perfect honeymoon!

Before I go, I’ll leave you with this.
 

We got this photo yesterday as a preview, and the rest should be ready within the next couple of weeks! I can’t wait to recap our wedding :).

Have a great Thursday!

14 Responses to “Honeymoon Recap, Part 7: The Final Days”

  1. Lauren August 9, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    Oh my gosh I can’t wait to see pictures!!!! I loved your photographer, she was awesome. It looks like you had a blast in Maui!

  2. Danica @ It's Progression August 9, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Loved these recaps, can’t wait for the wedding ones! That pictures is absolutely gorgeous!

  3. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions August 9, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Oh my gosh, that picture is beautiful!! Can’t wait to see the rest of your wedding shots!

    Also, the picture-of-a-picture thing totally threw me off haha. I saw your reflection in the picture and thought it was my reflection I was seeing, so when I moved and the reflection didn’t move I was like, “What is happening?!?!” Haha.

  4. peaceloveandoats August 9, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    awwww what a cute photo! I’m glad you all had a great honeymoon!

  5. Kristen @ notsodomesticated August 10, 2012 at 6:38 am #

    Fun pictures!!! Looks like you guys had plenty of good meals while you were there! 😉

  6. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign August 10, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    I’ve loved reading these! Cheeseburger in Paradise was one of our favorite places to eat–we ate there quite a few times during the week!

  7. Crista August 12, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    OMG I LOVE Maui! & great wedding photo… it’s beautiful!

  8. di @ life of di. August 13, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Thanks for sharing your honeymoon with us. You are definitely on top of it. I still have a few posts to go – not sure why I’m lacking motivation 🙂 PS – Your wedding pictures are stunning! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

Leave a comment