Friday Things

10 Aug

1. I am so intrigued by the new TLC show, “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo.” And by intrigued, I mean, I don’t know whether to cover my eyes and cry, or stare at the screen in shock. I just don’t know…

2. I made a mistake in last week’s post. I didn’t start my half marathon plan this week, because I actually start it next Monday, the 13th. On Wednesday, I went to Athletic Annex to get properly fitted for new running shoes. After walking around barefoot and running in front of guy who has 8 marathons under his belt (very helpful, but a little intimidating, I must say), I now have my first pair of Brooks, and I’m ready to start training!

3. First, it was Gabby Douglas’ hair (too messy?), then it was Lolo Jone’s physique (too sexy?), and now it is McKayla Maroney’s body language.

Source

Yes, in that split second, she looks ungrateful, but should we be so hard on her? She’s 16-years-old. She’s tired. She worked her butt off for her entire life only to be that close to the gold medal, and then she didn’t get it. Give her a break. It seems like everyone has something to say about female Olympians. What about the boys?

4. Yesterday, my mom, sisters and I went back to paint pottery for the second time this summer. I can’t believe that the last time we were there was at my bachelorette party — 7 weeks ago! This summer flew right by.

5. Yesterday, I baked this. Feel free to drool over the recipe, or make it yourself this weekend.

6. I have a self-cleaning oven. Yesterday, when making the above recipe, butter spilled all over the bottom of my oven, and it needed to be cleaned. So, my apartment is currently filled with smoke, my eyes are burning, and I’m just waiting for the two hour cleaning process to be over. I don’t know how smokers live in apartments. They must constantly live in a fog.

7. Today is my grocery shopping day, and I’m really looking forward to it. Does that make me weird?

8. I’ve been making dinner for Jordan nearly every night since we’ve been home. He hasn’t complained about any of the meals yet, but he did say that he was very impressed by my baked barbecue chicken. If only he knew how easy it was (Weber Grill barbecue sauce + Emeril’s Essence)! I guess I’ll be making that again :).

8. I checked out this book from the library on Wednesday, and I have yet to open it. I think I’ll make that change while I sit and make sure that my kitchen doesn’t set on fire.

Have a good weekend!

21 Responses to “Friday Things”

  1. Lauren August 10, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    McKayla was interviewed on the Today show about that face and she said it was because she was disappointed in herself, not the medal. I don’t blame her! And your chicken looks yummy! You should do an apartment tour : )

  2. peaceloveandoats August 10, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    Ummmm what in the world is Here Comes Honey Boo Boo??? And I hate that they are picking on these girls. That was one split second that they picked out, not everyone is smiling every second!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 10, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      It’s based off of the show “Toddlers and Tiaras.” It’s pretty trashy…but I can’t stop watching!

      • peaceloveandoats August 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

        omg i’m going to have to find that… I hate that TLC doesn’t have shows on hulu.

        • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 10, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

          I’m sure it’ll be on YouTube eventually…I have a feeling that a lot of people are going to make fun of it.

  3. Danica @ It's Progression August 10, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    1-that show…it makes me embarrassed for that family. Lord help them.
    2-my sister got a pair of Brooks recently and she LOVES them. I need new running shoes and I’m considering trying them out too!
    3-AMEN!
    6-we have a self-cleaning oven now too but I’m scared to use it. I imagine the whole thing setting fire or something!
    7-I LOVE grocery shopping. If you’re weird, we’re both weird. 🙂
    Happy Friday!

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 10, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      The oven smelled like it was going to catch our entire apartment on fire, but everything’s fine. Just make sure to open all of your windows if you use it — it gets smoky! Have a good weekend :)!

  4. Alex @ therunwithin August 10, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Painting pottery, jealous! That chicken looks amazing. Love that you are back and in the groove already!

  5. This Life Is Sparkling August 10, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    I find it funny that you look forward to grocery shopping now and never used to go when you lived at home 😉 We should layout tomorrow since it’s supposed to be nice. I’m sure I’ll talk to you sometime between now and then 🙂

  6. HollieisFueledByLOLZ August 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    OH MY STARS YES TO YOUR OLYMPIC CHAT! I am so tired of hearing about all the negatives. That freeze framed that shot…it wasn’t like she was standing there on the stand doing it. She was probably holding back tears and I know for a damn well fact I would be too. Overall favorite, best by god knows how much and had one bad vault. LOL, I’ll get off my soapbox now. 😉

  7. Anna @ Hugs and Kiwis August 10, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    Okay good so it’s not just my oven that does that when it self-cleans! I have to start it, open the windows, and then leave haha and trust that my house isn’t going to burn down or my eyes will be killing me for several days. Your chicken looks good; I love Emeril’s spice mixes!

  8. Kailey August 11, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    I adore grocery shopping – it is one of my chores for the family since I love it so much 🙂

  9. notsodomesticated August 11, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    Amen, girl! I hate that people are picking those poor girls apart. It’s human nature to be disappointed in yourself if you didn’t perform the way you had hoped!

  10. glutenfreehappytummy August 12, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    what a delicious looking dinner! and i love painting pottery! its so fun! 🙂

  11. di @ life of di. August 13, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    #2) I’m training for a half marathon too. I’m so nervous. I’ve never run more than 3 miles. I hope I’ll be able to build 10 more by October 21st! #7) I love grocery shopping too. There is just something about it 🙂 I think that book sounds really good. #8) I enjoyed the Sisterhood books/movies; I’ll have to check it out.

    • Emily @ Perfection Isn't Happy August 13, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Good luck with your half marathon training! The longest run that I’ve done is a 10K, so I’m really nervous too!

  12. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign August 13, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Painting pottery sounds like so much fun!

Leave a comment