Things I Learned as a Bridesmaid

11 Oct

Being in a wedding taught me a lot of things. Read:

Drinking a glass of champagne on an empty stomach before the ceremony will not end well.

I almost passed out. I was that bridesmaid.

Luckily, my parents were sitting in the pew behind me, and my mom came to the rescue with a bottle of water, while I used my dad’s program as a fan.

The ugly cry comes out when you least expect it (my girl Oprah would understand).

Thank you, Jordan, for capturing me in all of my glory. I’m pretty sure I cried more than the bride did. Go figure.

My drink of choice is vodka + cranberry.

Although I’m pretty sure they were really weak, because I’m not even sure how many I had, and I still felt okay the next day.

Monistat Chafing Gel miraculously doubles as a makeup primer.

Source

Say whaaa???

Google it. Seriously. You’ll get more comments about makeup than what it’s actually supposed to be used for (and no, I’m not going there).

My cousin and I were discussing makeup the night before the wedding, when she gave away this little secret. Monistat Chafing Gel has the exact same ingredients as Smashbox Photofinish Primer, and it’s a hella whole lot cheaper. Who woulda thought?

In hopes of long-lasting makeup, I snagged Lauren’s tube to use the morning of the wedding. All I had to do was put a small dab on my finger, rub it in like I would moisturizer, wait a minute or two, and then apply my makeup as usual. I even used it on my eyelids, and after 8 hours, my eye makeup still wasn’t sliding around on my face (because that’s always a cute look…) like it usually does after a few hours.

There you go, that is my beauty tip for the day :).  Share it with all of your friends…or don’t 😉 (but really, do).

If you’ve been in a wedding, did you learn anything that you didn’t know before?

Do you have any “secret” beauty tips?

7 Responses to “Things I Learned as a Bridesmaid”

  1. squigglefloey October 12, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    Aw you look gorgeous in red! Love you hair 🙂

  2. Laura @ LauraLikesDesign October 12, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    ha! That trick is so interesting! I wonder who figured that out?!

  3. Grace October 12, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Wow! That is such an interesting beauty tip! I’m not really great for those, except I use Johnson and Johnson all natural baby lotion on a cotton ball to remove my makeup, way cheaper than those little bottles!

  4. Sylvia @ Frolic Through Life October 12, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I actually use the Chaffing Gel for my face. I got a sample of the Smashbox one from Sephora and loved it, so I went online to read some other reviews and found the trick. Same thing for like a quarter of the price.

    Cranberry vodkas are my poison of choice too! You looked great!

Leave a comment